Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-11-2005, 06:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jrp1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,875
Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
New Filter

I currently have a whisper 40 gallon filter on my aquarium, and frankly...it's useless. About 3/4 of the water overflows from the filter without ever being filtered. I was thinking either a canister filter...or a HOB that actually forces the water through the media. I would look myself, but there are so many filters, and I figure you all have a favorite...
__________________

__________________
jrp1588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 06:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
It sounds like you have a dirty filter... not a bad one.. try cleaning it..
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 06:51 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
Ahhh...another filter advice request. If it's a HOB you want, the AquaClear is very good. The water cannot re-enter the tank without going through three stages of media.

For a canister, the Fluval 304 is probably one of the best (if not the best). Again, water cannot flow independent of the media.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 06:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jrp1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,875
Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
The media's been in there for about a week and a half, and even when it's perfectly clean, it overflows a little. I refuse to clean or replace the media every week. The aquaclear looks good...and much less expensive than a canister
__________________
jrp1588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 07:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
All HOB filters are designed to put the water back into the tank if the filter is too dirty.. even my Aqua Clear.. The intake section is designed to let the water flow back into the tank around the intake tube if the filter gets too diry with them..
If its getting dirty too fast then you might be overfeeding or you could use a sponge on the intake.
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 07:20 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
If you are looking at HOBs, I would recommend the Aquaclear, Emperor, or Penguin models. Are you looking for a replacement for the 30 gal in your sig? If so, I'd go with the Aquaclear 70 (300), Emperor 280, or maybe the Penguin 200B (the 350B might be too much current). It really just comes down to preference- the Emperors and Penguins have the Biowheel, but the cartridges are expensive and they are louder than the ACs- still a good filter though. The Aquaclears have no Biowheel, but come with ceramic rings, a carbon insert, and a foam block. They are very cheap to maintain, as you don't really need to replace the foam unless it gets torn up, and as far as I can tell you never have to replace the ceramic rings. You can just rinse the foam block in old tankwater (NEVER in tapwater) every once in a while during your PWCs. I don't use the carbon in mine, I just stack 2 foam blocks in there and put the ceramic rings on top and this works well for me.

You probably already know, but don't forget to run both your old and new filter together on the tank for a couple weeks. This will seed the new filter and prevent a cycle when you remove the old filter. HTH
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 08:27 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jrp1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,875
Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
alrighty, thanks.
__________________
jrp1588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 11:16 PM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmaji
It sounds like you have a dirty filter... not a bad one.. try cleaning it..
Well put. I have a Whisper too and this happens when the media gets too dirty for enough of the water to flow through. I get my relacement media so cheap at BigAls though I have no qualms about throwing in new stuff whenever I need to.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 11:22 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jrp1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,875
Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
I'm gonna buy an aquaclear anyway. The media is much less expensive...or free since I could probably just clean out the sponge and reuse it pretty much forever.
__________________
jrp1588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 11:24 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
You might want to find out why your current filter is getting dirty(and figure out how to fix that situation).. Otherwise your going to have the same problem with the new Aqua Clear..
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, new filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filter vs. HOB filter for a planted tank fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 02-02-2009 01:09 AM
are Wet/dry filter & Mini-Reef Filter the same thing?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-26-2005 04:02 PM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
How to filter 200 gal. Would pond filter work? arowanaman420 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 11:05 PM
Small Internal power filter as a secondary filter chasgood General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-17-2004 01:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.