Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-13-2009, 12:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

New guy with a quick question

Hello, i recently bought an aquarium and have begun stocking it with a few fish. Before I bought this however I had purchased a betta fish that sat on my desk. Ive since recently moved him to the aquarium where he appears much happier--that is if I shut off the filter system. He seems to struggle with it on a bit and there is quite a bit of current running throught the tank. I have been searching for DIY ideas on how to reduce the flow on this filter as I am a college student and spending money is a luxury. I dont want to purchase a new adjustable filter and was wondering if anyone had any ideas. I could be mistaken about my betta not enjoyiong the current but I have read that they are not strong swimmers and do not prefer strong currents. Im currently using an aqua-tech power filter 5-15 model in a 10 gallon tank.

Old 01-13-2009, 12:44 PM   #2
CTD
Aquarium Advice Freak

Wrap a thin sponge or foam around the filters strainer and use a couple rubber bands to hold it on to it.

Old 01-13-2009, 01:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

k thanks ill give that a try
Old 01-13-2009, 03:21 PM   #4
Thanx but no.....

I'd rather see you find a way to divert the water coming back into the aquarium instead of restricting the intake flow.

I've seen people take a sponge or piece of PVC cut in half and attach it to the outflow. The goal being to distribute the return more horizontally instead of a str8 down flow.
Old 01-14-2009, 12:32 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak