Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-04-2013, 01:53 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mikestanked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Segundo, California
Posts: 289
New powerhead placement?

Just got a new powerhead for my 29g and its the same style just a bit more powerful,(old=550gph new=600gph)
Long story short, whats the best placement for my LR setup, and will get me the best flow?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130903_215250.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	63.8 KB
ID:	196320  
__________________

__________________
YOU EAT SHARK=SHARK EAT YOU!



mikestanked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 01:57 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mikestanked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Segundo, California
Posts: 289
I plan on using both powerheads FYI
__________________

__________________
YOU EAT SHARK=SHARK EAT YOU!



mikestanked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:46 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Put it on the opposite side of the tank. I have 2 Koralia 425s in my 20 gallon on opposite sides. One pointing slightly upward to agitate the surface, the other just a degree or two below horizontal, and they are controlled by a Hydor Smart Wave to alternate their flow (so that I don't end up with a 20 gallon swirling vortex of fish death).
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 01:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mikestanked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Segundo, California
Posts: 289
Do you think both two running in my tank is to much?
I like the idea of having them alternate, how much does the controller cost?
__________________
YOU EAT SHARK=SHARK EAT YOU!



mikestanked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 01:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
I would think having them running at the same time might be tough on your fish. The controller was about $70 at BRS.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.