Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-04-2011, 04:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boise id
Posts: 7
New tank filter. Aqueon or Tetra?

Well i just bought a new 20gal tank kit on sale at my local pet store. I got the kit so it has a whole new HOB filter, so do i used the brand new Aqueon quietflow filter with all its fancy four stage filtration or do I use my ole tetra whisper 20-40 with the less fancy filter and black bio foam grid? i also used my old water substrate and plants from my 10 gal tank
__________________

__________________
dolphan89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 06:26 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 114
Send a message via ICQ to KittyKat Send a message via MSN to KittyKat Send a message via Yahoo to KittyKat
The vast majority of the beneficial bacteria live on the filter media. You need to use your old filter media either in the old filter on the new tank or in the new filter on the new tank if you are doing an upgrade. The water, plants and substrate do not contain very much bacteria at all.

I also recommend that you read about the nitrogen cycle, so you understand how it works and why filter media is important.
__________________

__________________
Kat
stock list | main display tank | 60 litre cycle log (aka, guide for beginners) | Flickr
KittyKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 08:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KonvictKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Deep in the backwoods of PA. Seriously.
Posts: 802
Why not use em both?
__________________
1.1 Cons
1.0 JD (JD Club #1!)
6.9 Guppies
0.0.1 Normal Ball Python
KonvictKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 11:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boise id
Posts: 7
Talking

i decided to use both. i have been told numerous times hat you cant have too much filtration
__________________
dolphan89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:39 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 114
Send a message via ICQ to KittyKat Send a message via MSN to KittyKat Send a message via Yahoo to KittyKat
Yes, can't have too much filtration, but can have too much flow
__________________
Kat
stock list | main display tank | 60 litre cycle log (aka, guide for beginners) | Flickr
KittyKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqueon, filter, tan, tetra

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter type for 60g bw tank? Chasnkevin4ever Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 0 11-11-2011 03:59 PM
New guy here, starting a 55 gal. tetra tank Jayw Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 09-27-2011 07:50 AM
Filter for FOWLR tank iamkush Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 09-21-2011 10:53 PM
new tank: need advice choosing filter and lighting basslover General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 09-12-2011 01:53 AM
New to forum and very frustrated with my tank! MaraLSky Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 09-04-2011 11:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.