Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-02-2012, 10:46 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
I believe the the one convict recommended can be hooked to a controller
__________________

__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:40 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Correct you can use the Hydor smartwave and probably other ones as well but I know the smartwave for sure.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:42 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
There is one that says in reviews those can't be used on at Dr foster and smith. So look around to see what you can afford and what not.
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 05:39 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Derekkaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 195
Lightbulb Hardwares

Id probably get 3 or 4 aquaclear hob filters.

And get a few incandescent light fixtures hanging above if you hang enough you probably wont need a heater.
__________________
Derekkaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 03:15 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
cezza44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 32
only issue with the aquaclears is they are more noisy aren't they? The tank will be in my bedroom that is why noise is issue.

I haven't been able to find many of the aforementioned wavemakers on ebay, does anyone know of a good online site for fish gear? That is available in Australia
__________________
cezza44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:56 AM   #16
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,349
Docter Foster & Smith is a good one to check out..also I use the aquaclear filters on 4 of my tanks&1 of those being in my bedroom with no noise issues..great filter easily customizable,I'd reccomend these over most available...the fluval c4 is also a very nice one to check out...
__________________
tiger terror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:54 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
cezza44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 32
What are peoples opinions of the Eheim filters?
They appear to use less electricity but have less lp/h turnover.
I would have taken this as a negative but a guy I was talking to at a store said that out of AquaOne, Fluval and Eheim, Eheim were the best by and far.
Should I look at upping to a good Eheim or would a Fluval 406 be a solid purchase?

In terms of heater I am thinking a Eheim Jager 150-200w (depending on which tank I end up with), or maybe a Fluval M.
__________________
cezza44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 05:15 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
cezza44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 32
/ has anyone used one of the Fluval G3s? - what did they think of them?
__________________
cezza44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:12 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Jayme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
I'm new to the saltwater. I have a 30 gallon set up now. I'm now in the process of setting up a 140. I would like to know which filter system would be best for my setup. I've been looking at the fluval fx5 and the fluval g6. Any suggestions?
__________________
Jayme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:37 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
cezza44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 32
Ok, so this is what I have decided on... I think
My tank will be a 152x40x65cm 395L tank
and hardware wise (initially) I am going a Fluval G3 (700-1400lp/h) and a Fluval C2 (450lp/h), then a Jager 200W heater. I will get the wavemaker soon as my tank is set up.... and my bank account recovers a bit.

Sound solid? Or should I up for a bit more lp/h power?
__________________

__________________
cezza44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hardware, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.