Newbie here, looking for advice (small tank).

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

matthewh133

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey everyone, I'm looking to build myself a 20 gallon long tank. I was wondering a few things.

1. With filters etc. how often are you still required to clean the tank, if at all?
2. Would you recommend starting off with a salt or freshwater tank?
3. Any starter fish recommendations?
4. What equipment should I look at to start off with? I want to have to clean the tank as little as possible. I don't want it to stink (it will be in my bedroom). That being said, I am obviously willing to clean it as much as needed. I love animals (vegetarian) and would never intentionally harm my fish.

Thanks for any assistance!

Edit: Here's a video of roughly what I want to work towards:

I reccomend starting off with freshwater because it's usually cheaper and easier. The things you need to clean in the filter are the media and occasionally the filter intake, all in tank water of course. For starter fish in that tank it's all up to you and what you want to do with it. Here's a great link regardless if you're doing fresh or salt:
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling

Ok. I'll bite :). You have to promise to take what I say with a grain of salt until the others chime in. If anything, It will jumpstart your thread and you'll get the solid advice needed.