Newbie Plumbing Question...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

markbal

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm fairly new to all of this with only two years under my belt and am seeking some suggestions and/or advice.

Our 150G reef system has been established for over two years is located in our dining room. Against a wall which borders our garage.

I punched through the wall a few months back and moved our chiller, water change pumps and our r/o system in the garage. It was a great solution and cut a lot of the noise out of the tank, heat from the chiller as well as made water changes a breeze. I rigged a reverse flow pump with digital flow meter. I simply program the number of gallons I want out of the tank and flip the switch. Change the direction of the pump and back in goes the new water.

Anyway, to my question.. Recently my wife let me go on a spending spree (god, I love her) and I picked up a Octopus dual chamber Calcium Reactor, a Two Little Fishes PhosBan Reactor and a Korallin BioDenitrator Reactor. All three units are over-rated for my 150, but I know that sooner or later I'll get a bigger tank so it made sense to spend more now and less later replacing systems. I'm a firm believer in overkill.

I also scored a complete 12Gal nano tank on Craigslist for $40. Corallife CF lighting system, wet/dry, about 20lbs of rock and sand.

My plan/thought was to put the Nano tank in the garage with the three new devices connected to it and then with two small pumps move water from the main tank to the Nano tank in the garage where the three reactors are connected and then back again.

The Nano tank also becomes a good home for some of my frag projects and things that are less attractive in my main display tank.