Newbie tank filling question - DIY tank - Fish quantity

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jespy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello forum!

Quick question from a fish tank newbie here. My parents have had fish before (fresh and tropical) but never had much to do with them - now i have my own place i'm starting a rather audacious DIY tank project! :fish2:

I'm going to be getting a custom tank made to 410x180x320 mm (WxDxH) - so pretty small!

How far from the top of the tank will i be able to fill with water? Ideally I'd like it to be ~20mm from the top of the tank to nicely match the enclosure. Is this too little? I have the ability to make the tank 410x180x340 mm (WxDxH) if really needed, although this limits access a little too much so I'd rather not!

Also with a tank this size ~21L (4.6 Imp Gal, 5.5 US Gal) I'm struggling with fish selection! What would be acceptable to both look populated and keep happy, healthy fish?

Thanks in advance!
Jespy
:fish1:

That size of a tank is really limiting in what you can put in there. Personally, I would only really put a betta in there and maybe some shrimp.

I'd just jump ahead and buy a $15 10 gallon. Much more stocking options.

Caleb

But then my tank idea wouldn't come off.

I've already invested a fair amount of money in this up to now - easily £150+ - so no matter which route I go, this tank will be made eventually.

That size of a tank is really limiting in what you can put in there. Personally, I would only really put a betta in there and maybe some shrimp.

A Betta was my initial idea. Or 5 or so neon tetras. Although i think the betta will look better and likely be easier!

A Betta was my initial idea. Or 5 or so neon tetras. Although i think the betta will look better and likely be easier!