Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-29-2011, 11:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
WhiteWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 22
Nitrate test question

I have three tanks right now. When I test the Nitrate in all of them right after each other, do I really need to shake bottle number two all over again each time? I have the API Freshwater Master Test Kit.
__________________

__________________
WhiteWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 11:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 137
It couldn't hurt.
__________________

__________________
Chino1130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 11:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
It wont hurt, but it's not necessary. You gotta shake it up to make sure it's not solidified, but the time it takes (less than 15-20 mins?) won't give it time to do so... it probably takes weeks to solidify. But, like I said, it certainly won't hurt anything if you want to do it for peace of mind.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 11:29 PM   #4
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Agreed - no need to shake it between every test when performing them in succession.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 11:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
WhiteWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 22
Thank you for the quick responses.
__________________
WhiteWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 12:22 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 134
I recently contacted the API test kit company and they said that their suggestion is when you purchase the kit(or when you decide to use it the first time) you should shake it for 20 minutes. Then, if you use it weekly you could shake just a minute or so before using it and then shake as the instructions say. I agree that if you are doing multiple tests consecutively you would not need to do the shaking.
__________________

__________________
Clynnking is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrate, test

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me with these test results! hollyml Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 22 09-03-2011 11:17 PM
Booyah - Nitrates Baby chrisinmontreal Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 30 08-30-2011 10:42 PM
Water test question Biocube14 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 08-16-2011 07:54 PM
Question about filter and api test kit patrick cleveland Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 06-28-2011 06:45 PM
water test question... maxwell2002 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 06-28-2011 06:35 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.