Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-14-2005, 10:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit MI USA
Posts: 204
Non-electric auto-topoff for ro system

At some point I read something on-line about a float switch (non-electric) that simply opened/shut a valve to let in additional RO water from an RO tank when water levels fell below a certain threshold. This was not the same as running some pump...I have an RO with a tank that I currently turn on/off in my sump (ball valve) to do a top-off... the switch I saw was something like the valve in a toilet that has a ball on it that raises/lowers to operate the switch.

Anyone use a mechanism like this for their auto top off? Or know where I can get one of these?
__________________

__________________
90g BB, basement sump/fuge; CSS 125; Tang, Clown, misc snails, peppermint shrimp, other smaller critters
luckycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 10:37 AM   #2
zacdl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
They work OK, but just make sure to keep it clean cuz sometimes they get stuck in the "fill" position...
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 11:10 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit MI USA
Posts: 204
I was doing a search and found Kent Float Vales, which I think is what I'm looking for...but to avoid this "sticking"problem or at least reduce likelyhood of the problem can I put two in series, one lower than the other? So both would need to stick to have a problem.
__________________
90g BB, basement sump/fuge; CSS 125; Tang, Clown, misc snails, peppermint shrimp, other smaller critters
luckycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2005, 01:45 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
The output for the valve is a small hole behind the float. I can't think of any way to feed one into another. I've got one in my sump and it works ok, sometimes better than others. I'm planning on putting a sprinkler timer on the input to the RO unit so it can only possibly run an hour a day, just to be on the safe side.
__________________
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto, electric, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What auto topoff system do you use? chase33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 06-05-2007 02:30 PM
My plan for an auto-topoff system Bearfan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 01-07-2005 03:12 PM
Auto Topoff Valve sevise Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-27-2004 07:41 AM
RO, diy auto topoff and feeder ?'s indy DIY Projects 2 09-07-2004 09:44 AM
Anyone have auto-topoff go wrong?? Joshsmit56001 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-18-2003 04:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.