Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-21-2012, 08:10 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 404
Yeah - but I only have a 20 and don't plan to go bigger any time soon. If I had a larger tank the python decision would be a no brainer.

I like the idea of the 3 gallon buckets with the lip and grip. May have to search those out.
__________________

__________________
twoodrough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:27 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Alyxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slidell, La
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via AIM to Alyxx Send a message via Skype™ to Alyxx
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodrough
Yeah - but I only have a 20 and don't plan to go bigger any time soon. If I had a larger tank the python decision would be a no brainer.

I like the idea of the 3 gallon buckets with the lip and grip. May have to search those out.
The buckets and a gravel vac worked just fine for me for years, for my 20 and my 30 gallon tanks. I found them near the automotive section at my Walmart.

However, for an easier filling option, you could go to the hardware store and pick up a garden hose to sink connector for like $4 and a garden hose if you really wanted.
__________________

__________________
Alyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:31 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Crawdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodrough
Really? This is how you do a water change with buckets? Seems like a tower ready to topple to me. That would be worse than a few splashes of water. The rim of my new aquarium is almost 45 inches off the ground. I would have to have quite a stack of buckets.

Does anyone just dump the bucket directly in the tank?

My hubby is pretty handy and probably could rig me up a homemade python type thing. I know I saw a detailed article somewhere on the net for this.
I pour, not dump, my water over one of the sturdy decorations in the tank. That way I don't blow my sand substrate all over. In my 55 cichlid tank, I use the rocks I have built up for caves, the 37 tropical, I have a glass vase in the tank as decoration, and aim for that.
__________________
12, 37, 55
Crawdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:53 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crawdaddy View Post
I pour, not dump, my water over one of the sturdy decorations in the tank. That way I don't blow my sand substrate all over. In my 55 cichlid tank, I use the rocks I have built up for caves, the 37 tropical, I have a glass vase in the tank as decoration, and aim for that.
I lay a dinner plate (only used for the tanks) at an angle against the driftwood in my tanks and pour the water onto the plate to disperse the force of the water. It keeps my sand from going everywhere and drifting too badly.

I also use 3 gallon buckets rather than a python. I prefer to treat each bucket with prime, not the full tank. The 3 gallon size is easier to lift and pour than 5 gallon buckets.
__________________
Bbarb27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 09:55 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Crawdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 423
I should have mentioned, I only fill the bucket about half way. I use two buckets, one filling, while I pour the other.
__________________
12, 37, 55
Crawdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 09:58 PM   #16
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
A cheap powerhead like a maxijet 1200 might be a good investment if you're going to be using buckets. Would end up costing about the same as a python though.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 01:04 AM   #17
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
Since I always do more than one tank and all my tanks vary in size, I just use my python for everything except filling certain tanks. For those I use water that I have in jugs so that it's "aged".
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:30 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 404
Found some buckets with spouts and handles at Lowe's. They are 4.5 gallons but I will probably just fill to the 3 gallon line. They had the 3 gallon ones but they were pretty small and would have to fill all the way to get 3 gallons. I will use them in my 10 now and will be easy to upgrade to the 20 later on and still do 50% changes. Looking forward to trying something new at next week's water change.

Thanks all!
__________________
twoodrough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 07:10 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,353
Water Changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodrough View Post
Yeah - but I only have a 20 and don't plan to go bigger any time soon. If I had a larger tank the python decision would be a no brainer.

I like the idea of the 3 gallon buckets with the lip and grip. May have to search those out.
Hello again two...

What's probably an "off the wall" alternative to large, weekly water changes, might be putting the root balls of certain land plants into the tank water with the leaves above the water. There are land plants that don't require soil to grow and need only fertilized water. Attached are pics of a couple of tanks that require only small water changes of no more than 3 gallons per week. The plants use the nitrogens produced by the fish and plants keep the water pure.

Might be an interesting twist for your tank. Just a thought "outside the box".

B
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P9010342.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	254.3 KB
ID:	120103   Click image for larger version

Name:	P9010335.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	255.5 KB
ID:	120104  

__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 07:38 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Machinist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 38
Im thinking about buying this along some clear hose from Lowe's to refill my tank with, it attaches to water faucet. You can also use it to siphon the water out of the tank too.
__________________

__________________
Machinist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, python, water, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.