Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-16-2005, 05:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: vancouver, B.C
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to whodini
not really a sump but part of the filteration

i have a 90gal w/ heavy bio-load so have battling high nitrates. with silver dollars will eat all the plants if it were to be planted. So got an idea from my lfs ;
heavely plant my 30 gal tank and use my fluval 304, leave output in the 90 and install the input in the 30 , and connect the two tanks via a siphen hose.
I'm a paraniod about my tanks and if something is going to happen, it'll happen when i'm at work!!! My question is ..
Does anyone have/ideas of a DIY water level control system ?
Like if the power goes out and the siphen keeps siphening water and over flowing my 30 , or something gets stuck in the siphen tube and the fluval sucks all the water out of the 30 and overflowing the 90. or any variation happening.
i just need to know how it should be setup , and how much lower is the 30 gal then the 90gal water levels.
I would be setting up the 30 gal beside the 90gal
__________________

__________________
whodini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 12:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
If the two tanks are set up so the tops are level with each other, the siphon will stop when the pump stops. There will be no problem in the event of a power outage.

If one tank is lower than the other, the upper tank should get an overflow box. The overflow box will only pass through water above a certian water level, so it will pass to the lower tank exactly the same amount of water as is getting pumped back up. If the power goes out, the water level in the upper tank will fall to the level the overflow box is set to, and stop flowing. A properly set up box will not loose siphon when this occurs, and start right back up again when the pump turns on.

You are describing a refugium, set up for nutrient removal. You might try doing searches on refugium for ideas.
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filteration Jwhitt Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 02-08-2009 06:32 PM
filteration ryan Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 04-30-2006 08:10 AM
Filteration InxayonFinland General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 01-18-2006 12:44 PM
Sump rock: Part Deux spinman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 09-09-2005 11:51 AM
Filteration Order? CP_ThunderGod Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-20-2003 07:03 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.