Nutrafin teat kits

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hobgob

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have a Nutrafin mini master test kits and for some old reason my nitrate reading seemed to be going crazy lately. I was just wondering if the kit expires or anything like that. Like how peroxide releases gases over time, is it the same?

Your Test Kit

Good morning Hob...

Unlike fast food french fries, test kits don't have an indefinite shelf life. So, yours may be expired and give an inaccurate reading.

On the subject of test kits, do you find those kits expensive? I've been on a tight "water keeping" hobby budget forever and am phasing the test kits out. Am thinking that since I'm changing more than half the water in my tanks every week, I won't have to test the water. Any thoughts on that??

Just curoius,

B

I actually don't test my "Stable" tanks after about a month or two of becoming "Stable", at least not all that regularly. Call it once a month(for fresh. every two weeks on my FOWLR salt tanks. With reefs I'd probobly keep testing, and my only reef is a five gallon pico which I test religiously) or if someone dies. I'd keep the tests on hand, but you can probobly streatch out the time between purchases, and the test kits should have a REASONABLE shelf life, something like two years I think though I could be mistaken there.

ShadoeFox said:
I think all of them can go bad. Also, I know the API kit, if you aren't shaking the Nitrate one enough it can start giving faulty readings.

It says for me to shake vigorously for 30 second so I go a bit longer. The API is for a minute a believe.