Observations on API test kits

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Floyd R Turbo

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have been keeping fish for better than 20 years, but I've learned the most in the last year. I wanted to start this thread not really as a discussion, but more to just post some insight about my experiences with the Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Liquid Reagent test kits.

I have read plenty of threads questioning the accuracy of API kits and plenty of opinions about their reliability. So I wanted to start this thread in case anyone searches on the issue and wants to find out how to use them right, or find out if something is wrong with their test results.

First off, I want to say that I consider the API Master Test Kit to be the staple test kit for the average aquarist, especially the newbie. They're easy to use (and misuse, as I will discuss) and relatively inexpensive. It should be first on the list after tank, stand, light, lid, filter, substrate. Notice I did not say water or fish.

The #1 observation I have is a new one. I maintain some saltwater tanks and I own Salifert kits for some of those tests, because they are far more accurate - and more expensive. But several come with a 5mL syringe. I found out that the little glass vials that come with the API kit have varying levels of where the little white "5mL" line is placed, and it turns out that they really suck at accurately silkscreening that line at the actualy 5mL mark. So the first suggestion I have is to go to your local medical supply store (or pharmacy) and get yourself an accurate syringe and use that to take your water sample from the tank. It also saves your dipping and pouring out the vial to get close to that darn white line. Just ignore it!!