Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-24-2011, 05:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Thelynchfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 48
Old lights

If I haven't changed my lights in a year can that cause more algae?
__________________

__________________
Thelynchfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 05:32 PM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
What kind of lights? Most likely the answer is yes.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 05:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Thelynchfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 48
They are bulbs I can't even read the writing on them they're so old! Guess it's time to upgrade!
__________________
Thelynchfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 11:46 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
I think it depends on what you are doing. Is this FW or SW? If FW are you fish only or trying to grow plants? If SW any coral?

If you have a fish only tank regardless of FW or SW then I really don't think it makes a difference how old the light is. It will put out less of the desired range of light that you want (which is why they get changed once a year) but that is only needed if you are growing plants or have coral.

Just having a light that is old is probably not reason you have algae IMO.
__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 02:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Thelynchfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 48
Fresh water no plants. At our Lfs they had a sign up that said old lights could cause more algae so that's why I assumed it was the lights. It's a brown algae we've never had that before could the cichlid buffer or the lake salt have caused this? Water parameters are good. I broke down and cleaned our filration system yesterday because the algae was covering it! I have this agae fix stuff that did the trick when we had an algae bloom a year ago but I prefer to add as little to the tank as I possibly can! Whatcha think?
__________________
Thelynchfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 02:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
brown.. like rust? sounds like diatoms, which isn't because of lighting. they'll burn themselves out unless you've got some crazy phosphates in your water. overfeeding can contribute
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 02:38 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Thelynchfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 48
Yeah it is kind of a rust color
__________________
Thelynchfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 02:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
+1 a brown algae that covers everything? Does sound like diatoms that come and go. Give it 2 weeks and they may be gone.
__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 02:43 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelynchfamily View Post
Fresh water no plants. At our Lfs they had a sign up that said old lights could cause more algae so that's why I assumed it was the lights. It's a brown algae we've never had that before could the cichlid buffer or the lake salt have caused this? Water parameters are good. I broke down and cleaned our filration system yesterday because the algae was covering it! I have this agae fix stuff that did the trick when we had an algae bloom a year ago but I prefer to add as little to the tank as I possibly can! Whatcha think?
According GWAPA, old bulbs can cause a Diatoms outbreak. Takes time for them to burn out, I'm on week 4 of mine and it's just starting to show signs of no new growth.

Greater Washington Aquatic Plant Association Ľ Algae in the Planted Aquarium
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 02:46 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Thelynchfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 48
Thanks for the input guys! It's Time for new bulbs anyway!
__________________

__________________
Thelynchfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, lights

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
actinic lights or just good lights ?? longbrro Nano Reefs 4 02-16-2011 10:52 AM
new lights are wrong lights.. help please rngrjt Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 06-10-2006 12:59 AM
Nicest PC lights? PC lights to stay away from? runway1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 01-29-2005 10:50 AM
Lights, oh the wonderful lights. SerLunchbox Canada 19 12-24-2004 05:40 PM
shop lights instead of pc lights? bolohead Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 06-10-2004 06:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.