Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-23-2011, 12:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
Old Model of AquaClear

Hey I'm about to buy a used tank with a old used filter.

This aquaclear filter is at least ten years old because the seller said

"Aqua Clear 300. On the box it says it cost $39.98 new. It's been used, but not for at least 10 years."

Was Aquaclear efficient in the old days?
__________________

__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 12:35 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
The AC 300 is the AC70 now. It is the same filter, and takes the same inserts. When they changed the name they added the bio rings.
__________________

__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 12:37 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cumberland, MD
Posts: 2,444
Aquaclear changed the model number but not the actual filter design. Older ones are just as good as newer ones unless you have a REALLY old one. Even then the motor and impeller were about the same, but the filter case and media basket was improved for bottom-to-top flow.
__________________
toddnbecka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 03:54 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
Actually, I have a brand new one (AC70) in the box as well as a couple of AC300s that are 20 or more years old, and they are identical.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 04:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I was using the old aquaclears 10+ years ago and they were as reliable as they are now in my opinion.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear (Hagen) 50 powerhead gohy898 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 09-01-2011 08:19 AM
Aquaclear 50/loach killer/dirty sponge Johny General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 08-30-2011 02:31 AM
AquaClear 200/50 set-up ??? Batt4Christ General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 08-16-2011 06:44 PM
Aquaclear 110 stopped working Greeny General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 08-15-2011 09:31 PM
Odyssea 24" T5 Model BR 25 Rutrag General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 08-02-2011 02:55 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.