Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-18-2006, 10:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 352
Send a message via AIM to degbowl
one more RODI question

I bought a filter on ebay last week. I hooked it up to my sink with faucet adapter. This way I can put it away when not being used. I ran the filter for about an hour to get it to where good water is coming out. Now I want to put it away. What do I do about excess water in the filter? Some water was still coming out of the filter. Should I just wait till it stops then put it away? I just want to make sure no other water comes out when I put it away. Thanks!
Jim
__________________

__________________
degbowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 11:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 280
I don't think you can disconnect it and store it without the di membrane getting ruined. I think it needs to be sealed from the air, whether by plastic packaging or water. Some have a valve that can be turned off while it is connected. Although I could be wrong.

Brian
__________________

__________________
Good Luck,
Brian
Macrosill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 11:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 352
Send a message via AIM to degbowl
I found some valves that I put on the end of the tubes. I was able to close the valves this way no air gets to the filters and no water can come out.
__________________
degbowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 02:01 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I let mine drain for a while then put it away. I have not had a problem in 3 years of use. I still get 0 tds output after the DI resin. The RO membrane has not been replaced yet but that's just a matter of time now.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rodi

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new rodi skae310 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 12-26-2009 06:57 PM
RODI Headache JoshsReef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 05-07-2008 10:26 AM
RODI - Which one do you have? fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 01-07-2007 09:39 AM
RODI OceanMist Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 09-29-2006 02:53 PM
RODI test not 0 choupic Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 05-08-2006 07:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.