Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-06-2012, 11:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Ok so we moved into a house and the previous owners left an above ground pond on the back porch. It measures 52" long 36" wide and 20" deep so that is about 160 gallons. It doesn't have a filter. Just a pump hooked to a little fish fountain. So I am looking at pond filters and I realize a small pool filter is waaaay cheaper. Would this work or is it a completely ludicrous idea? Something like this :

http://www.amazon.com/Intex-58603E-R...358559&sr=8-16
__________________

__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 09:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Ok so can anyone give me some ideas on cheap filtration?
__________________

__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 01:34 PM   #3
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
JMO, but I dont see why you couldnt use this. Its gph is more than sufficient to handle the size of your pond. I have a bigger version of this one & have been using it to pump out the water on my pond project. But, what I will warn you about is this filter is meant to work below the water line. It will not pump above the water line without suffcient (and pain in the butt) priming though once it gets started, it works pretty well. What you may want to look into is a DIY filter- theres a bunch of U-Tube videos on the how-to mechanics of making one inexpensively using a trash can.
__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 07:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlk View Post
JMO, but I dont see why you couldnt use this. Its gph is more than sufficient to handle the size of your pond. I have a bigger version of this one & have been using it to pump out the water on my pond project. But, what I will warn you about is this filter is meant to work below the water line. It will not pump above the water line without suffcient (and pain in the butt) priming though once it gets started, it works pretty well. What you may want to look into is a DIY filter- theres a bunch of U-Tube videos on the how-to mechanics of making one inexpensively using a trash can.
Thanks I will look into it.
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, pond

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.