Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-07-2009, 05:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 19
overflow

This might be a dumb question but what is an overflow on an aquarium and what its purpose. Just curious.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
hottievols is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 05:54 PM   #2
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
An overflow takes water from the display tank into the sump. The water is returned using a return pump. There's a good, basic picture on this link of how they work.

Melevsreef.com | Acrylic Sumps & Refugiums

The overflow is on the right.
__________________

__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 06:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
They can either be hang on back or internal, the internal ones have holes drilled through the glass (best). The hang on back overflows use a siphon tube (work good but you have to monitor them)
__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 08:04 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 05:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: West rand in JHB, South Africa
Posts: 19
Send a message via Skype™ to OrionX
In short an overflow when done correctly will make sure all your tankwater wont end up on the floor in a power outage
__________________
OrionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got the Overflow InfernoST DIY Projects 11 11-02-2009 08:28 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
best overflow to use?? brett7768 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 01-12-2006 11:59 AM
Need Overflow? gzejer Midwest & the Dakotas 10 12-19-2003 01:19 PM
Is this enough overflow? kidafius Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-20-2003 01:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.