Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-05-2008, 06:13 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: wales uk
Posts: 15
overflow box

just settintg up a sump tank with a non drilled tank done all the pipe work do i have to have a small box inside the tank or can i get away with just the pipe with a thing on it to stop the fish going up the pipe
__________________

__________________
beanyboy1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 02:07 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
You can do without a skimmer box in the tank IF:
your siphon u-tube is deep enough in the tank that it will NEVER lose siphon, AND
you have a baffle / standpipe in your external overflow box that will stop the water flow at the correct level so you don't drain down your entire tank.

I ran a system like that for a couple years without problems. However, this is inherently more risky than using a skimmer box.
__________________

__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 04:30 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I agree with Jsoong.

I would opt for the skimmer box. There is a lot less chance of failure with it then without.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 10:00 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
OldMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 137
Forgive me if this sounds stupid but I have never had a sump. It would seem quite simple to me to use a large diameter siphon to move water from inside the tank to a box on the back. From the back box, use a standpipe at the minimum level that you would tolerate in the main tank to limit any water level drops. If the siphon extended well below the level of the standpipe on both sides of the tank wall, the siphon would not need priming after a power loss and power recovery since it would stay full of water when the standpipe was reached and stopped all water flow. Maybe I'm missing something here because I have never used a sump.

Let me try to show what I mean by a simple diagram.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OVERFLOW.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	23.2 KB
ID:	15623  
__________________
OldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 11:21 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
No you arent missing anything the idea is sound and will work. There are a few problems though. Something could easily get sucked up into that U-tube and cause a flood. Your working water level is going to drop until it is equalized on both sides of the U-tube so you need to keep that in mind when planning the size of your sump.

For my sanity I would just buy an overflow box. I hope it works out for you.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 11:57 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726

Name:   return%20line%20004%20Large%20Web%20view.jpg
Views: 746
Size:  40.4 KB
I bought this one for like 65 dollars It came with tubing to the sump but I decided not to use it and piped a PVC drain instead

Note the little half wall inside the outside box that gives the U-tube water to prevent siphon loss when the power goes out The drain half of the outside box is just a bulkhead type fitting with eggcrate on top of it.

Even with this design I just had an overflow because my starfish crawled over the mesh and into my U-tube plugging it.
__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:53 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
CaPoNe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 56
I have a tidepool OVERFLOW BOX that comes with the Marineland Tidepool wet dry filter setup, note- I only have the overflow box not the whole setup. Im building a sump right now but ive tried to start this thing, and cant start if for crap it doesnt have a U tube persay, its something like one but flatter if someone that knows how to start these things could look at this picture and let me know how to do it? I tried air line tubing but just kept getting a mouth full of SW!! Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks. Heres the link- http://akamai.edeal.com/images/catal...2812827med.jpg
__________________
CaPoNe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 12:43 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
The tidepool is a wier type overflow. To start the siphon, you can place an airline hose in the wier, tilt the overflow so the airline is at the highest point of the wier & suck out all the air.

From reading the forums, people have problem with air collecting in the wier type overflow because of low flow velocity. It is generally recommended to use a small PH or Venturi to continuously remove air & maintain siphon.
__________________

__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, overflow box

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overflow box help ares General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-26-2010 06:28 PM
overflow box... help! mike3epanda General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-29-2007 02:28 PM
Overflow box triggerman888 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-02-2007 04:05 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
Overflow box qhrisnd General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 08-29-2005 07:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.