Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-21-2011, 05:05 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
The reasons I used PVC were, 1; because it's cheap and I don't have much money, and 2; I really like having the pleasure of being able to change the waterflow to my needs. I originally wanted to do flex tubing but I didn't find enough or the right size.
__________________

needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:08 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by needmorecowbell View Post
Nope no skimmer. It's only 10 gallons :/
Cool

Are you putting chaeto in there?
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:11 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by David S

Cool

Are you putting chaeto in there?
Yep and in the bottom right corner I will have lr rubble, and maybe some different filter pads in one.the middle is my refugium/ cheato
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:13 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
don't forget to have a small cheap low wattage light over the chaeto
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:13 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Blacksteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 178
Ok ya I could easily change the overflow to 1/2" with some extra tubing I have. I'm guessing that this would be enough for a mag 350?
__________________
Blacksteel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:15 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by David S
don't forget to have a small cheap low wattage light over the chaeto
Yep I got that covered.
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:35 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacksteel View Post
Ok ya I could easily change the overflow to 1/2" with some extra tubing I have. I'm guessing that this would be enough for a mag 350?
1/2" equates to 420gph,will be spot on!!
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 06:49 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
here are the pictures... the left is the where it pumps out and the right is where it comes in. also i have an endcap on the one piece... that piece has holes in it and i have another piece with bigger holes in it and no endccap.
__________________
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 07:55 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
I really would again advise against a valve in the drain pipe(blue)there is no reason to throttle this down unless you have a 'T' before the valve and then also routing to another section of the sump.
If you use this setup and throttle the drain(overflow box pipe) down,it can backup and flood,it only takes some crap from the tank or algae which was floating around to block it.
Is that overflow box made by you?
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 09:05 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
It is already glued but can I just not use it? And the overflow wasn't made by me but I wanted to. I just didn't have the equipment. I did make the sump design and plumbing though. Thank you for the warning, I didn't know that was possible.
__________________

needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, overflow box, plumbing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plumbing Overflow Box and Planning Water Flow Jimothy DIY Projects 0 09-24-2008 10:30 AM
Help with plumbing for overflow and sump? brigoody General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 09-11-2007 07:07 PM
Overflow plumbing DOLPH General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-02-2007 02:40 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
Overflow / Plumbing Question SkinnyPete Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-21-2005 01:54 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.