Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-21-2008, 08:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 204
overflow box siphon

i am going to be adding a sump to my tank with an overflow box that hangs on the back and uses a siphon to pull the water out of the tank into the sump.if the power goes out it will break the siphon, when the power goes back on the main pump will pump the water out of the sump into my tank then over. i have heard you can drill a hole in the "U" tube and insert an airline and run the airline to the port on a power head and when the power goes back on the siphon will be restarted, is this right? does this work?
__________________

__________________
60 ga. SPS tank w/ 2 - 175w 20k halides, korallin 1502 calcium reactor w/ph contorler
24ga. SW nano w/150 HQI
180ga. FW aggresive fish
125ga. FW w/60ga. sump. VERY aggresive fish
tamra&steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 10:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Skyrmir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 522
Send a message via ICQ to Skyrmir Send a message via AIM to Skyrmir
http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_ViewItem~idproduct~OE1137.html

That's the pump I use myself, works pretty good and they're cheap. No idea about the retailer in the link though, I bought mine locally. It's a little noisy during restart when it's sucking air, but it's always restarted with no problem.
__________________

__________________
Skyrmir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 11:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 204
ok cool thanks i have that pump on my CA reactor it works good i can get those for like 7 bucks. thanks im glad someone wrote back. you have tested it though right thanks
__________________
60 ga. SPS tank w/ 2 - 175w 20k halides, korallin 1502 calcium reactor w/ph contorler
24ga. SW nano w/150 HQI
180ga. FW aggresive fish
125ga. FW w/60ga. sump. VERY aggresive fish
tamra&steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 11:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 204
anymore info or problem i might run into would be helpfull thanks
__________________
60 ga. SPS tank w/ 2 - 175w 20k halides, korallin 1502 calcium reactor w/ph contorler
24ga. SW nano w/150 HQI
180ga. FW aggresive fish
125ga. FW w/60ga. sump. VERY aggresive fish
tamra&steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 03:02 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 204
any other info about this anyone???
__________________
60 ga. SPS tank w/ 2 - 175w 20k halides, korallin 1502 calcium reactor w/ph contorler
24ga. SW nano w/150 HQI
180ga. FW aggresive fish
125ga. FW w/60ga. sump. VERY aggresive fish
tamra&steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 03:25 AM   #6
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamra&steven View Post
if the power goes out it will break the siphon, when the power goes back on the main pump will pump the water out of the sump into my tank then over.
Why do you think it will break the siphon? I used a U-tube type overflow box for close to 20 years and it never lost siphon when I shut down the pump. There is no reason a properly setup overflow would loose siphon.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 12:01 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I'm with cccapt. Is this a home made overflow? Is so check out Melev's DIY Overflow. If not check out the Continuous Overflow Siphons at ThatPetPlace.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 03:25 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 11:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 204
i have a overflow box with two U tubes but wont it lose the siphon if the power goes out and the tanks water drops lower then the overflow box then the pump comes on and fills the tank up. when the water drops wont it loss siphon?
__________________
60 ga. SPS tank w/ 2 - 175w 20k halides, korallin 1502 calcium reactor w/ph contorler
24ga. SW nano w/150 HQI
180ga. FW aggresive fish
125ga. FW w/60ga. sump. VERY aggresive fish
tamra&steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 10:20 AM   #10
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I'm not sure I understand. (Better grammer and punctuation would help.)
Quote:
when the water drops wont it loss siphon?
No
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, overflow box, siphon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1200gph CPR Siphon Overflow asudavew General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 05-16-2009 08:31 PM
how to start overflow siphon Fierro Nights Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-22-2008 03:19 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
U shaped or siphon tube overflow better? Yao General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-15-2006 12:27 AM
CPR Continuous Siphon Overflow sciguy9 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 08-28-2004 04:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.