Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-18-2015, 07:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
alco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Victoira, Australia
Posts: 322
Ozone reactor setup help

Hey all,

I wanted to start using ozone in my tank, I've read sooo much information on ozone and how to use and just trying to take every precaution I can so I decided to buy an Ozone Reactor as part of my setup for the ozone.

I purchased the Reef Octopus OR-150 Ozone Reactor - Detailed Product View

I knew what it does but didn't know how the water ran through it and gathered it was pressure that pushed the water through the outlet.... the issue I have is when setting up the reactor, I read the instructions and found the outlet of the reactor has to sit above the sump water level (the water through the outlet goes out by gravity, not pressure)

Unfortunately I don't have this luxury and I have to put this reactor beside my sump.

I'm thinking about hooking up a pump to the outlet of the reactor to push the water back into the sump, the only thing I'm afraid of is if the pump I attach somehow stops working and the pump that goes through the inlet of the reactor floods my house.

I'm open to suggestions or possibly a better was to do this.

Attached is a picture of where the reactor has to go, there no other place it will fit.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	146.8 KB
ID:	282194  
__________________

__________________
View my 265g DIY tank so far
alco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 08:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,235
Why not hook a pump up to the output with 'flexible 'hose and use it to 'syphon/waterbridge' without the pump being used on input???

Why didn't you just opt to install/apply your ozone through a skimmer???
__________________

coralbandit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 03:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
alco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Victoira, Australia
Posts: 322
unfortunately I don't think that would work, the pump on the inlet pushes water through but the reactor isn't full of water, the water only fills to about an inch or two above the the outlet.

The reason I opt to do it was just a safety precaution, it DE-detoxifies majority of the ozone prior from entering the tank. I get that if plugging it to a skimmer does nearly the same thing but excess ozone that may end up to in the skimmer cup. Compared to the reactor where the excess ozone turns to O2 prior from exiting. The reactor setup would be in the cabinetry under the tank, there's no ventilation under there that leads to outside and I have a family, I prefer to have zero risk of excess ozone in our house.

The generator to skimmer works for some, I've even read that people just hook up a generator to an air stone and are happy with that.

I just rather try to use every precaution I can
__________________
View my 265g DIY tank so far
alco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 03:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,235
I understand.
I can pass all exiting air from skimmer through carbon if I choose.
I know I have smelled ozone before....

Not pretty but can the reactor be hidden above the tank and then allowed to function as intended?
Possibly even a 'box' or such to hide it(possible excuse for that canopy addition..)??
coralbandit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 04:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
alco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Victoira, Australia
Posts: 322
I wish, there's no room to put anything above the tank or on the sides or even to out it in a separate room and run it through a wall.

The only wall that has room on the other side is the walk-in wardrobe and my wife would destroy me if I attempted to put it in there.

I've attached a photo, on the left side, there no room at all for an extension, but the right side does have a bit more space but the reactor would need to be higher which means the cabinetry would be higher and block the tank on a side view and the cabinetry wouldn't be symmetrical with the tank (and wife would destroy me)

Maybe just a highly quality pump for the inlet??? I was thinking about just drilling a hole into the reactor around the top-side and attaching a hose that leads to the sump as an overflow but I'm afraid that might end up defeating purpose of the reactor and lead excess ozone out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	97.5 KB
ID:	282241  
__________________
View my 265g DIY tank so far
alco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reactor, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what's everyone's opinion on ozone machines? packfan2204 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 10 03-30-2004 10:35 AM
Ozone. mansiz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-08-2004 10:34 AM
How effective is ozone against marine Ich (Crypto) andVelvet BigShot Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 10-07-2003 05:52 PM
Ozone Generator stemonia Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-25-2003 04:11 AM
ozone scuba_steve Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-07-2003 07:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.