Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-06-2011, 03:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Paranoid about glass

Hello All,
I'm new to fish in the last few months and I'm having a lot of fun. I was loaned a 10G in December, but now I want something bigger.

I bought a 30G from a big chain, but I am paranoid about it breaking as I have a toddler and I live in a condo, so I'm considering acrylic. I'm not overly concerned about the cost, except that I don't want to be getting a new one anytime soon if I spend a bunch on it.

So, the issues for me are:
1) size: not too big not too small (I'm leaning toward 50g: 36x15x20)
2) is it a real pain dealing with the small access holes on the SeaClear tanks?
3) Could I use a lower stand so it is easier to get into?
4) Am I just being paranoid about the glass tank?
5) to bow front or not

edit: I'm thinking I'd like to get a eheim 2217 and mount the return above the water with more holes to create a rain effect. would this be feasible?

Any advice or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

-Burke

Old 04-06-2011, 03:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Hey welcome to AA If you post your questions under the getting started section of fw or sw (Whatever you plan on keeping) People will be able to help you with your concerns

Old 04-06-2011, 03:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years

POTM Champion

I think glass would be better with a toddler... I can just imagine what my son would do to scratch the tanks if they were acrylic. Glass doesn't scratch easily, and unless your toddler has something like a hammer, I don't think you'll encounter any issues.