Penguin Filters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bbrown

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm currently running two penguin filters with the biowheels in a 20 and 10 gallon respectively. I'm pleased with the water clarity and the filter's performance. However, the cost of replacing the cartridges is too expensive. Has anyone used anything other than the Penguin cartridges in these filters such as sponges?? There is not a whole lot of room in the smaller Penguins for filter media. Any suggestions??

I've been using a Penguin100 for about 3 months now. I clean the blue filter as needed, but I don't see a need anytime soon to replace it. You could try and cut down a piece of sponge, but it may be more work than it's worth. Basically, anything thin enough and long enough to fit in the existing slot should do. Just know that you'll lose your carbon (or whatever they put inside) filtration. Shouldn't be a big deal IMO.

About a month after inserting new cartridge, I make a small slit in the black plastic mesh with an exacto knife and shake out the carbon. I figure that by this time, it is saturated and can only do more harm than good. I don't see the need to run carbon in my filters all the time anyway, but I suppose you could stuff fresh carbon, (or even some filter floss) into the empty cavity.

When I do my weekly water changes, I rinse off the blue fiber pad. I replace the cartridge only when it starts wearing thin and falling apart. About once a month, I clean the gunk out of the impeller and its housing. I never touch the biowheel - only make sure it's seated properly.

Replace them with an AquaClear and you will have enough room to do anything you want with the media and the media for that AC's fairly priced.

well i have an aquaclear 10 goin on my 5. its a lil sdtrong but the media cartrages are different if all of them are shaped like that.