Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-24-2005, 03:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Penguin Filters

I'm currently running two penguin filters with the biowheels in a 20 and 10 gallon respectively. I'm pleased with the water clarity and the filter's performance. However, the cost of replacing the cartridges is too expensive. Has anyone used anything other than the Penguin cartridges in these filters such as sponges?? There is not a whole lot of room in the smaller Penguins for filter media. Any suggestions??

Old 06-24-2005, 03:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I've been using a Penguin100 for about 3 months now. I clean the blue filter as needed, but I don't see a need anytime soon to replace it. You could try and cut down a piece of sponge, but it may be more work than it's worth. Basically, anything thin enough and long enough to fit in the existing slot should do. Just know that you'll lose your carbon (or whatever they put inside) filtration. Shouldn't be a big deal IMO.

Rena Filstar XP2
Pressurized CO2 w/SMS122

29 Gallon Goldfish
4" Red/White Ryunkin
4" Orange Fantail
Penguin 100
AquaClear 20
FMJnaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 04:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

About a month after inserting new cartridge, I make a small slit in the black plastic mesh with an exacto knife and shake out the carbon. I figure that by this time, it is saturated and can only do more harm than good. I don't see the need to run carbon in my filters all the time anyway, but I suppose you could stuff fresh carbon, (or even some filter floss) into the empty cavity.