Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-15-2010, 06:55 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
pH Monitor

I was always under the impression pH monitors were crazy expensive, is this one a rip-off or were my thoughts misguided?

Digital pH Meter Tester Monitor Hydroponics Aquarium - eBay (item 250647964988 end time Jun-16-10 04:07:13 PDT)
__________________

__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 10:40 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo7 View Post
I was always under the impression pH monitors were crazy expensive, is this one a rip-off or were my thoughts misguided?

Digital pH Meter Tester Monitor Hydroponics Aquarium - eBay (item 250647964988 end time Jun-16-10 04:07:13 PDT)
Looks ok, my biggest concern would be that it is shipping from Hong Kong.
__________________

__________________
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 10:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
logansmomma1228's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,470
Send a message via Yahoo to logansmomma1228
It looks alright to me too but I have always been leery on those types of things. I saw an ammonia thermometer once and was curious but I am not willing to mess with it lol. Sometimes it is good to step out of the box though! If you get it please update us on its accuracy
__________________
~LM~ (My tanks)
When in doubt, do a water change!

If someone gives good advice, thank them with some rep points!
logansmomma1228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 10:03 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
My only concern is that sw is never mentioned. I just wonder about corrosion.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 06:33 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
Yea, thats a valid point. I remember in chem class we had to keep the ends of ours in this little bottle when stored to keep them clean. I wonder what it was.
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 10:56 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Also with mention of Saltwater. The calibration solutions they give you are a little low. Typically with saltwater you calibrate with 7.0 and 10.0 solution. However, the range went to 14 which is plenty high enough. Hard to say.
__________________
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 09:45 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
crzytrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 44
Send a message via ICQ to crzytrace
I bought one of those about a year ago. it lasted me about a month. imo it is junk.
__________________
I used to have money till I set up my reef.... Now all I have is a major addiction to reefing!
crzytrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 03:34 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
did something happen to it or did it just stop working someday?
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 02:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
crzytrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 44
Send a message via ICQ to crzytrace
The probe leaked and got water inside. As far as I could tell there is no way to replace it, a whole new unit is needed.
__________________

__________________
I used to have money till I set up my reef.... Now all I have is a major addiction to reefing!
crzytrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ph Monitor-Yes or No current516 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 06-02-2006 07:16 PM
pinpoint ph monitor troutman11111 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-23-2005 08:58 AM
Pinpoint PH Monitor IL Poppy828 Archive 5 03-09-2005 09:38 PM
What to do with ph monitor? albinooscar Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 01-01-2005 11:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.