Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-06-2010, 01:06 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmor1701d View Post
Ray,

I can't increase surface agitationanymore than it is withougt blowing water out of the tank.

My PS is already oversized for my tank and draws in plenty of air.

A/C is on when it's hot, otherwise at least one window is open in the room wtih the tank.

Lights are on for 12 hours.

BTW water parameters in the tank yesterday (before today's pwc)
Temp 79
pH 8.2 (salifert) or 7.65 (probe)
Alk 12
Ca 400
Mg 1460
NO3 2.5

I am running np BioPellets which can reduce pH. That's why the trickle outflow is placed right next to the PS intake pump.

The probe reading are the same now as they were before I started using the BioPellets.

The only way to increase the pH will also blow the Alk through the roof,

My change water has the same readings. When mixed to 1.025 the liquid test kits show 8.2/8.3 while the probe shows 7.8

So if Lou is correct then everyone using a liquid test kit has a pH much lower than actual. If that is true, then is it really so bad?
Hmmm challenging. What about dripping kalkwasser? That will increase your PH and Cal. I'm not sure how much of an affect it will have on the Alk
__________________

__________________
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:09 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Or, maybe you got a bad probe. So, if you were to take the probe out of the sump and stick it directly inside a fresh pouch of calibration solution at 7.01, is that what it would read?
__________________

__________________
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:46 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I use 2 part (Randy's formulas). I'm just making a batch of Ca today. Not sure I want to increase Alk any higher than it is.

The monitor does show the pH over 7.8 before lights out. They just came on an hour 45 ago, but won't reach peack for another 15 minutes (2 hour dawn/dusk gradual ramp up/down)
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
test, test kits

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you read your liquid test kit? Lonewolfblue Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 03-24-2006 02:22 PM
Test strips vs Liquid tests pegleg Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 11-26-2005 09:29 AM
Just got my liquid test kit... heres my results... mrcrazypants05 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-05-2005 01:46 AM
Test Strips or liquid drop kits ? ? ? Rockcrawler General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 02-17-2005 11:00 PM
Test strips or liquid test kits? yellowjacket171 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 08-28-2003 04:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.