Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-12-2005, 12:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
pH probe

I am trying to ease my parameter testing . I just dont like the color matching charts. Anyhow, I purchased a pH meter(pen style). My new probe is way off from my liquid tests. I want to recalibrate and have a small amount of solutions(7.0&4.0). Do I mix a solution from these tiny bottles? -OR- Do I drop a couple drops on the probe?

I purchased this on ebay. Company technika, model PHPRO

Any help is appreciated as always
__________________

__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 04:55 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
You need to place the probe into the solution, completely submerged. Do not mix the solutions. The biggest thing with these pens is that the tip be wet, so you need to soak it in deionized (distilled) water for a few minutes before you test. Then you need to leave the probe in your sample of tank water, or in the tank, like I do ( ) for a few minutes for it to stabilize. I have found it to be "off" when I first put it in, but if it is correctly calibrated then you can trust the results.
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 05:10 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
I am still not sure about the calibration solution. I know not to mix the two together but can I dilute them or something to make more of it. The tester I have came with a dropper of each solution. Definately not enough to submerge the probe to the immersion line. I will try the distilled water and then testing the tank. Does distilled water have a standard pH like it does salinety (0) etc?

Thanks for the advice TG
__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 09:55 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
I am not familiar with using a dropper - you can't dilute the calibration solutions or your results will not be accurate. I am familiar with small pouches or "sachets" of solution, that are about 2.5" square, and contain enough solution to immerse your probe into. Or, you can get solution in bottles and you pour it into a small cup, You need about a medicine-cup's worth of solution for the probe I have.

If you go to the Technika website they sell bottles of solution, and if no one comes along here who has this model maybe they can help you at Technika pertaining to your particular model.

Distilled water should be pH 7.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 10:35 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Distilled water in an open container is at about 5.8pH or less. 5.0 - 6.0 range, so it's not a good solution to calibrate a meter. I would suggest you buy some calibration fluid, both 7.0 and 10.0.

You might want to check with your dealer to find out if you have a concentrated solution that needs to be mixed.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 04:37 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
I did not mean to use it to calibrate, just to rinse off the probe. I am misinformed about the pH of distilled water!
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 07:46 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I think that distilled water starts at 7.0pH but starts dropping as soon as the CO2 from the surround air hits it.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 08:32 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
This is a generic post of my meter. As you can see it is not a single protruding probe. Almost the entire lower section must be submerged. Do you think I can just pt a few drops of solution on the probe inside the housing and not submerge the unit?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ph_probe.jpg
Views:	312
Size:	22.5 KB
ID:	93  
__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 04:11 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I don't think so. The probe needs to be submerged in fluid to get an accurate reading. Email the seller and ask about the probe and the solutions. I would just order some 7.0 and 10.0 solution online
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 04:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
Sounds good I will order some right now- thanks

Just because my readings are so far off from my liquid tests is there anything with a constant pH for a quick check(vinager or baking soda water)? I am concerned it is too low. Liquid test shows 8.2 and meter says 7.2.

Should I add the 8.3 buffer just in case. That would bring it up to the target area of 8.3 right?
__________________

__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a grounding probe? InfernoST General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 01-29-2010 06:29 AM
Grounding Probe bhammer General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 09-06-2009 08:57 AM
grounding probe brianf40us Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 12-25-2008 04:18 PM
ph probe and temp lilismom1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-15-2004 12:50 AM
pH Probe astride13 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-03-2003 09:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.