Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-05-2006, 09:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 75
phosban

Has anyone tried the new Phosban 150 Reactor ???
__________________

__________________
batfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 02:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
I have 2 of them daisy chained together on my 300+ gallon system. The first one runs Phosban, the second runs carbon and the output of that feeds my fuge. I've heard that the old ones had a zillion nylon screws to deal with. None of that with the new one.
__________________

__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 06:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: kenosha wisconsin
Posts: 653
does the new one have a bigger chamber?
feeding the fuge with the output is an great idea! i might replumb my return and that would make it easier. i could remove a tee and supply more flow to the main.
what powerhead are running to feed them both?

steve r
__________________
75g RR. 2x250 14k MH / 2x54 T5 act. 29g sump. ASM G1X skimmer. phosban reactor. 80lbs LS, 90lbs LR, 2x seio M620.
kole tang, bicolor angel, mandarin dragonette, ocellaris clown / BTA , cleaner shrimp, 2x peppermint shrimp, a variety of soft, SPS, and LPS corals, orange linckia star.
steve r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 09:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
They recommend a MaxiJet 600. Our club is doing a group buy right now and we're considering a Mini Jet 606. I don't know anything about them yet though so the jury's still out.

I didn't have the "old" one so I don't know if the chamber is different. I really think that the only difference is the top of the housing and the hose ports.
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 05:29 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
Isnt the maxijet 160gph? The phosban they recommend a pump at 80 or 90gph, im confused here.
__________________
drillsar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 09:12 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pitman, N.J.
Posts: 101
From what I've read you don't want a heavy flow with the phosban...I would go with the companies recommended flow rate.
__________________
emorrison33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 10:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
the reactor comes with a valve which you can use to restrict flow. Mine runs on a MJ400 at about 40% cut off. It needs low flow so it doesn't tumble the media which is friable. Mine works great, and I think it was a good deal. I think I did need maybe 1ft of 1/2" hose, but I already had some.

I'm using about 1/3 of a jar of phosban at a time for my 54g. changing it about every 3 mo.
__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 03:10 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
oyf709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 645
blah i can't wait till i get mine, i ordered one 3 weeks ago from marine depot and due to x'mas it got lost in transportation by ups, now they are back tracking and re-sending the item to me, donno when it will arrive.
__________________
We Provide LED Solution For Your Aquarium..
Click the Signature for more information.
http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/w...09/aqled-1.gif
oyf709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 10:55 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
I just put one on my tank because of algea and cyno. I wonder how long it takes before you see results?
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHOSBAN=LOW PH????? baily2007 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 08-10-2007 01:03 PM
PHOSBAN REACTOR choupic Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-16-2006 01:59 PM
Phosban Media fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 05-13-2006 09:39 PM
pump for phosban morgan24 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 01-13-2006 02:15 PM
phosban and chemipure piggybank2005 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 10-20-2004 12:35 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.