Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-19-2010, 08:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
torontofc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Phosban Reactor 150

Just got the Phosban Reactor 150, can somebody give me a rating of this product. I seen some people saying it could release toxin, and some people saying it's really good.
__________________

__________________
torontofc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 09:56 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I would love to hear some more info on them releasing toxins. The only things I can think of to explain this would be either residual chemicals from manufacturing the plastics or if the flow is too low you could favor toxic bacteria that create hydrogen sulfide (just like what can happen in sand beds that are not stirred in any way).

I have three running back to back on my 45. The first has carbon, the second has GFO, the last has Purigen. I just added the Purigen one and need to get some more flow through the whole chain. I love them. They are affordable and easy to setup and maintain. I love how you can just add more of them if needed. And the new larger size is a great option for larger tanks.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:56 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
torontofc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Do you think the Vertex Pro-Bio Pellets work in the Phosban Reactor.
Vertex Pro-Bio Pellets: Vertex Pro-Bio Pellets - 500ml
__________________
torontofc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 08:23 AM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I don't think it matters what they are in as long as the conditions are right. If the flow rate is correct it shouldn't matter what reactor you use.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 07:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
torontofc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
ok, thks
__________________
torontofc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 08:18 AM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 11:52 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I have NP BioPellets running a Phosban 150. I also have a dual chamber reactor from Bulk Reef Supply for GAC and GFO.

All workng great.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 03:04 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
torontofc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmor1701d View Post
I have NP BioPellets running a Phosban 150. I also have a dual chamber reactor from Bulk Reef Supply for GAC and GFO.

All workng great.
is it true that the biopellets automatically creates phytoplankton for the corals to eat? should i continue to add phytoplankton?
__________________
torontofc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 10:51 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Coral are fed by LIGHT, or at least the Zooxanthellae that live within and feed them do. Along with normal tank feeding, coral should get all the nutrients they need without the addition of phytoplankton. Phyto is needed for young clams (below 3") and if dosed for sps coral should be done sparingly (once a week).

As for BioPellets producing phyto, I've never heard that and I have no idea how that could happen. Many folks experience a bacterial bloom when first starting wiht the pellets. I didn't have that experience. My nitrates went form 20+ back down to under 2.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 11:55 AM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Even if they did produce phytoplankton, which I doubt they do in any significant amount, most corals don't eat phytoplanktom. Clams, leathers, and a few others do, but most eat some size of zooplankton. The size zooplankton they will eat is generally based on their polyp size. SPS will eat very small zooplankton (frozen food examples would be daphnia, oyster eggs, rotifers, etc.). The larger the polyp the larger the zooplankton the coral will eat, all the way up to some LPS eating considerable sized pieces of fish or even whole fish.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PhosBan Reactor madlynb General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-14-2009 10:45 PM
Phosban 150 reactor? drillsar General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-14-2006 08:46 PM
Phosban 150 reactor? drillsar General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-09-2006 10:22 AM
Phosban 150 Reacter Thumper Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 04-01-2005 09:58 PM
Phosban Reactor 150 awillemd1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-03-2005 08:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.