Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-02-2011, 06:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
phosban reactor 150 help

So i am looking into buying a phosban reactor 150 by two little fishes... my question is what pump do you guys recommend using on this reactor .. just looking for a simple setup. I plan to run phosban and maybe carbon together.
__________________

__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 08:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
maxijet 400-
MJ400 Premium Aquatics - MJ400 Aquarium Supplies
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 08:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
And would it be ok to run both carbon and phosban at the same time with that pump? Also if I was to only run one media will it still be ok? I thought i read somewhere that they required different flow rates..

Thanks
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 08:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
well, they say the GFO needs to tumble a bit or it clumps up. i didn't have this issue, but i suppose it's possible.
carbon will work with fast or slow flow, so i'd say you'll be ok. what about the volume though? what size tank is this, and how much media are you expecting to use?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 08:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
Well as far as how much media to use I am not sure... I have never used a reactor before. I guess that would be my next question, how much media should I be using and how often should it be changed or washed.

I have a 60 gallon tank with 20 gallon sump.
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 08:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
bulk reef supply has a lot of info about that.
Bulk packaged Granular ferric oxide GFO for aquariums - English
watch the vids.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 10:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
Great. Thanks that was exactly what I was looking for. So if I start running some gfo should I just remove my chaeto from my sump? And maybe add more rock instead
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 02:16 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
My lfs told me to go with the via aqua 20/20 because it comes with everything.. What do u guys think?
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 02:32 PM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Don't remove the chaeto, that is natural nutrient export. The GFO is just supplemental if the chaeto isn't enough.

I had a chain of three Phosban reactors on my reef. First had Carbon, second GFO, third Purigen.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 02:37 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
I had my 2 phosban reactors both running on rio 90's they are hanging on my sump with the rio's just under them so there is not a lot head and low flow. Never had a problem. I had gfo in one and carbon in the other both were from Bulk Reef Supply. I have taken the GFO out and replaced with BioPellets.
__________________

__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.