Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-24-2012, 04:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
kgaz41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 63
Phosban reactor

What is the best media to run in a phosban reactor? And why?
What would be the best to use to cure any algae problem?
__________________

__________________
kgaz41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 06:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
LaWoWee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgaz41
What is the best media to run in a phosban reactor? And why?
What would be the best to use to cure any algae problem?
GFO (which is what phosban is) is probably the best way to go. I used to run rowa phos which works great but its too pricey so now im back to GFO. Pull out all the algae and then run the GFO in a reactor. Itll stop it from growing back if it doesnt kill it. You should also find out where the nutrients are coming from thats fueling the algae.
__________________

__________________
LaWoWee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 09:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
kgaz41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 63
Well I do not have skimmer set up yet what would be a cause of nutrients. I feed once every other day I run lights for only 8 hours a day and moon lights for the remainder I have a pair of clown and a yellow chromis and don't wanna add anything else till have the skimmer and reactor set up I'm using rodi for top off and changes. I chage my sump filter sick every 2 days and I use chemi pure elite and puirgen along with sechem phosgaurd placed I the oceanic sump where my water flows in through the filter sock.. Should I put the media in the filter sock?
__________________
kgaz41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 06:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
LaWoWee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 406
I would just keep the media in the sump in a place that has the highest flow. The media will reach its absorbtion capacity real quick if placed before a filter sock.
__________________
LaWoWee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 02:56 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
kgaz41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 63
How about with the return pump? I have no idea where to place it and have no idea if there really even working but I still wanna combat this algae and hoping the skimmer and reactor will help me out betyer
__________________
kgaz41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 01:05 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
kgaz41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 63
And how much will the skimmer and reactor help with algae?? And what else can I do or use to help get rid of it and keep it gone?? Should I cage my filter socks as often as I do? And how often should I clean the bubble catch sponge or clean it? I never cleaned the sponge due to b.b but I change the socks every to days after there ran through 2 cycles in the washer with bleach and then one with just water??
__________________
kgaz41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 02:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
LaWoWee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 406
Do you perform routinely water changes? I usually change my filter socks when they start to overflow which around a week and a half and i do a water change at the same time. If the bubble catch sponge is dirty i would clean it out with old saltwater. BB will still be there. Running your media through a reactor is way better than laying in the sump because the water will be forced to flow through it. I also think you should invest in a good skimmer. It will dispose of organic waste, leaving less to turn into nutrients (No3/Po4).
__________________
LaWoWee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:10 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
kgaz41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 63
I plan on setting up my reef octopus this week and the same with my reactor I do water changes about every 10 days
__________________
kgaz41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:47 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
LaWoWee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 406
Nice man! Those two things will make you life a lot easier
__________________
LaWoWee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
kgaz41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 63
I just finished a pram test and I got

Ph-8.2
Dkh-9
Ammonia-0
Nitrate-0
Nitrite-0
Phosphate- 0 or close to zero
Calcium-280 just softies in the tank working being it up

So idk what is causing the algae besides a lot of nutrients so I'm hoping the skimmer helps but would running the chemi pure the purigen and seachems phosgaurd 24/7 be causing the algae
__________________

__________________
kgaz41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.