Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-02-2009, 03:03 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Post Phosphate reactor vs Fluval 405 Phos media?

Is there a difference in having a Phosphate Reactor and having Phosphate media inserted into your media baskets? I want to get a Phosphate reactor and I notice Fluval makes a Phosphate media for the canister filter. Right now I have no carbon in the system just LR rubble in the 3 lower cambers. Which would work better?

GFO reactor that BRS sells or just get the media and use it with the LR in it?

Let me know...
Thanks

:p
__________________

Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 03:16 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Good question. I would imagine the Fluval would work, but I don't know if the media is any good. All the reactor does is pass water through the media, same as the fluval canister, so function wise it's fine, just don't know about the quality of the media.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 03:22 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Could I just get any Media and place it in a Media bag? Should work fine I take it?... Also should I place them on the bottom of the canister since that would be the first to be hit with water flow?
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 03:39 PM   #4
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
I would think that yeah, you could use any media. And it doesn't matter where in the canister it is, the water passes through all the trays.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 03:53 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Thanks this saves me money....
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 06:16 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
You know of any good Phosphate remover pellets or Granulets?
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 06:19 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Moved to General Hardware and Equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 06:34 PM   #8
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Phos-ban seems to be popular. I've heard great things about Rowaphos but I got extreme sticker shock when I looked at that one.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 06:39 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Right now I would get what ever is going to work the best. What about Seachem? Is that a good brand?
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 06:42 PM   #10
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I buy GFO pellets from BulkReefSupply. Phosban is the same thing and costs alot more.

IMO, a cansiter filter is not a good place to run GFO. It should have very, very low flow (like 100-200gph) going thru it so it doesn't grind together, turn to dust and end up all over the tank. The media should be gently tumbling in the reactor, and you won't be able to see that inside the canister.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, fluval 405, media, phosphate, reactor, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW - Phos Ban Media Reactor 550 by Two Little Fishes AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 11-10-2009 08:34 AM
Fluval 405 Question Smitty General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 08-03-2009 08:56 PM
Used Fluval 405 Tank2379 Archive 1 02-09-2009 12:19 AM
Fluval 405 for 90 gal iroc_254u General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 12-11-2008 03:49 PM
Fluval 405 JTAM963 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 03-01-2007 06:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.