Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-27-2012, 11:06 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Captaingills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Phosphate reactors

I've been researching reactors and was curious as to whether a lifegard inline filtration would work. Filling the mechanical filter interior with phosban seems like an easy process. Does anyone have any insight or experience with this?
__________________

__________________
Captaingills
Captaingills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:45 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
I've never heard of them, but am looking at them now. I have a dual reactor from BRS where I run GFO and Purigen with great results.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Captaingills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
I've had an algae bloom and found that my Kalkwasser had a phosphate level over 1 mg/L. I use 2 teaspoons limewater per gallon plus about 2 ounces of vinegar and the phosphates were off the chart. So, there's my dilemma. I need to dose calcium in my reef tank without feeding the algae. I'm using phos-zorb, but I'm not getting the results I want.
__________________
Captaingills
Captaingills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 02:04 PM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Then I agree that you are in need to run some reactors. I was in the exact same position with one bloom after another. It took about a month of the GFO to finally get ahold of the problem. The addition of Purigen, rather than activated carbon, has also provided the results I was looking for. The reactors off of BRS might save you some coin. There are usually a bulk buy going on in the forums that Carey is usually incharge of. Might want to check it out, it is like a 10% savings I believe.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 02:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Captaingills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks. I have a lifegard mechanical, biological and UV system and was hoping to run the phos-zorb inside the mechanical filter. Least expensive option. Only fear is water flow would be too high.
__________________
Captaingills
Captaingills is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
phosphate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.