Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-30-2007, 11:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 266
pictures-Light bracket

Folks,
just wanted to share a picture of a mount I made for the Coralite 4X64 aqualite. It seems all the "legs" on the market for this light do not allow you to use a glass canopy. The legs restrict the glass canopy from opening. Yes-even the legs they sell that tilt!
I took solid oak and made a frame for the top edge of the tank. I made uprights that allow the light to sit on high enough for the glass canopy to open.
It matches the oak stand and is functional.
Anyway-they should let you know the legs dont work if you have a glass canopy!!
Thanks
Cliff
__________________

__________________
Cliffz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 12:15 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 239
Re: pictures-Light bracket

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffz
Folks,
just wanted to share a picture of a mount I made for the Coralite 4X64 aqualite.
Sounds like a fine DIY project, but ....

I dont see a picture.
__________________

__________________
Cheers!
Ketso


55 gallon Planted - Tank Log
DIY Hood 96w 6500K
Rena Filstar Xp3
Ketso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 12:59 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
A light on legs (i assume with no canopy) looked terrible to me, especially in a bedroom. So I built a canopy, cheaply, to house and hold the light, no legs needed, no glass cover needed. I like it much better.
__________________
Woody83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 08:19 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 266
Darn--The picture didnt attach--said too big--hmmmmmmmmmmmmm how do I make is smaller?
__________________
Cliffz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 09:32 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
How to add images to your posts.

Keeping your tank covered with a glass lid can lead to carbon dioxide buildup which will lower the oxygen and ph in the tank. Do you have fish that jump?
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 09:45 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffz
Darn--The picture didnt attach--said too big--hmmmmmmmmmmmmm how do I make is smaller?
Without having you download and install new software, and unless your PC already has a graphics program, you could upload it to http://imageshack.us (on online image host that does allow hotlinking).

Simply go to the site above. Click browse. Locate your image file. Then click on the button "Host It". It will take a bit for it to transfer and when it is done the page will change showing you 9 different options for showing it in your messages. And, it's already formatted with bbcode! I tend to use the "Direct link to image" and then wrap it with URL tags at other boards I am a member of.
__________________
Cheers!
Ketso


55 gallon Planted - Tank Log
DIY Hood 96w 6500K
Rena Filstar Xp3
Ketso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 12:38 PM   #7
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
you can resize in MS Paint. Find the stretching/skewing option.
Everyone has MS Paint.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 08:22 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 266
picture -2nd try

cropped picture to about nothing! Didnt work!
__________________
Cliffz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 12:28 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
It's not too big because it's a large photo (cropping helps but isn't always necessary). It's too big because of the file size. Reduce the file size and you will be able to post it. Is it a jpg file?
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 08:12 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 266
picture third time

lets try again!!
__________________

__________________
Cliffz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, pictures

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY ATO/Skimmer shutoff bracket, 1st Attempt InfernoST DIY Projects 0 01-24-2010 02:55 PM
Triton GS2 Maxi-Jet Mod for sale w/ Magnetic Bracket. Kurkis Archive 2 06-30-2009 05:36 PM
Even more pictures from my awesome LFS! Fish Pictures blazeyreef Show Off/Photography 17 02-21-2007 10:28 PM
New light, RE-rescaped, pictures, questions... Meredith Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 03-03-2006 04:28 PM
Reflector and bracket james00 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-24-2004 09:32 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.