Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-24-2014, 05:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Question please help my first aquarium

Hello everyone

I'm new to the forum and I just bought my first aquarium (80 gallons). I was wondering if u can give me some advices about setting it up cause i'm totally new to this thing. I have a smaller aquarium with one axolotl, and I have a 180 lbs caucasian mountain dog and a congo african grey parrot but never owned a fish before, I want to get 2 oscars, 2 catfish, 3 blecos, a colorful crab, and if possible a freshwater eel.

Are my choices good? Is the aquarium large enough? Or is it too small? Can I consider adding more fish? Also what kinds of decorations and aquatic plants do you suggest? Do u know any other aquatic animals that I can add?

Thanks in advance.

Old 01-24-2014, 06:26 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Yes on some kind of cat. Pleco is related to catfish I believe.

Some eels are ok, the smaller ones, really anything bigger than its mouth should be fine.

Fishless cycle for sure, that's the way to start the tank.

I'd also use a canister filter, possibly run a sump if you wanted to keep it extra clean.

20long hitech/10gal shrimptech

Old 01-24-2014, 10:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by hippy guy View Post
Fishless cycle for sure, that's the way to start the tank.
I totally agree!

Also, good choice getting a large tank to start with! I have a 10 gallon, and I want to get a bigger tank so bad!
Old 01-25-2014, 04:22 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic

please help my first aquarium