please help my first aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mike111

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone

I'm new to the forum and I just bought my first aquarium (80 gallons). I was wondering if u can give me some advices about setting it up cause i'm totally new to this thing. I have a smaller aquarium with one axolotl, and I have a 180 lbs caucasian mountain dog and a congo african grey parrot :D but never owned a fish before, I want to get 2 oscars, 2 catfish, 3 blecos, a colorful crab, and if possible a freshwater eel.

Are my choices good? Is the aquarium large enough? Or is it too small? Can I consider adding more fish? Also what kinds of decorations and aquatic plants do you suggest? Do u know any other aquatic animals that I can add?

Thanks in advance.

Yes on some kind of cat. Pleco is related to catfish I believe.

Some eels are ok, the smaller ones, really anything bigger than its mouth should be fine.

Fishless cycle for sure, that's the way to start the tank.

I'd also use a canister filter, possibly run a sump if you wanted to keep it extra clean.

20long hitech/10gal shrimptech