Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-06-2010, 03:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Unhappy please help on filter

i have three 20...30 ....and a 55g aq...............one of my main problem is power cut.............which filter will be suited for me??? i need info about self priming filter...........Is there any hob which is self priming......or any other suggestion
__________________

__________________
soundenzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 04:20 AM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundenzy View Post
i have three 20...30 ....and a 55g aq...............one of my main problem is power cut.............which filter will be suited for me??? i need info about self priming filter...........Is there any hob which is self priming......or any other suggestion
only self priming filter i know is the Aquaon filter. they will self prime with or without water in the filter, this is one reason y i use Aquaon filter that way i dont have to worry about power out.

as for the AC, it will only self prime if there water in there.
__________________

__________________
BlackMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:14 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
Get a battery backup for you filters. This helps eliminate the need for a self priming filter. If the power flickers then the batteries kick on and the filters keep running. You can usually find a pretty cheap APC UPS at Staples after rebates. I got mine for around $70 and it has saved me numerous times. I only run 2 heaters and 2 filters through it (my lights would drain it too quickly).
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 10:34 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
My AquaClears stay primed if the water level doesn't drop. I have to prime the filters after a PWC, but that's it.
__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Filter Reccommendation, 5.5G w/ betta, Whattabout the Elite Hush 5 Power Filter michaelg210 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-17-2010 10:01 PM
are Wet/dry filter & Mini-Reef Filter the same thing?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-26-2005 04:02 PM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
How to filter 200 gal. Would pond filter work? arowanaman420 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 11:05 PM
Filter Floss in an Eheim 2026 Canister Filter hforney General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 02-27-2005 02:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.