Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-18-2006, 11:28 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 164
Plugging in a protein skimmer

What kind of power pack does a protein skimmer have, and how do you neatly and safely plug it in? I am getting a seaclone 100.
__________________

__________________
LittleParr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:36 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 512
Every skimmer I that have seen has normal plugs for wall outlets.
__________________

__________________
AndyH5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Memphis
Posts: 196
The seaclone is powered by a MaxiJet 1200. Standard 2 prong plug.

FYI, have you purchased the seaclone yet. 40 million people will tell you, don't buy it and spend a little extra on a bakpak.
__________________
45G Reef - 65#'s of LR, 3" sand bed, Fluval 304 filled with LR rubble, (2) MJ900, SeaClone 100 protein skimmer with MJ1200
Fish - Ocellaris Clown, Royal Gramma, Purple Firefish, Coral Beauty, Blue Neon Goby
Coral - Xenia, Devil's Hand Leather, Toadstool Leather, Green Hairy Mushrooms, Zoanthids
Inverts - (2) Peppermint Shrimp, Scarlet Cleaner Shrimp, (5) Turbo Snails, (4) Nassarius Snails, (10) Blue Leg Hermits, Emerald Crab, (3) Scarlett Crabs, some small starfish(hitchhikers)


My Aquarium Photos
localhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 01:43 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
He asked and only got one reply though in this post & none in this post???

At the very least go with a Seaclone 150 which is limitedly better. A Coralife super skimmer or AquaC Remora would be much better though.
__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 02:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 164
What's wrong with the seaclone? I'm looking for a skimmer that is compact, quiet, and efficient up to 75gal, so maybe I need some suggestions of some that won't cost me a fortune (i'm thinking in the $150-200 range Canadian$).
__________________
LittleParr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 02:49 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 164
For the aqua c remora, would a maxi-jet or rio pump be better?
__________________
LittleParr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 03:12 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Its the pump or powerhead that's plugged in, not the skimmer itself. Normal precaution like the drip loop shuld apply. Otherwise, there is no safety issue plugging in the pump - unless you're standing in the tank when you do it!
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 05:16 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
ive read that the maxi-jet is better.
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 05:36 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 145
I have a CSS 65.. it uses a rio 1100 pump. The seaclones just plain suck. I've seen them working as advertised but those are rarities. The CSS 65 will cost about the same as a seaclone.. cheaper if you get it online.
__________________
Neilster1
neil.derryberry@gmail.com

Have questions about satellite tv? Visit us at http://www.dbstalk.com
neilster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 07:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 164
what's a CSS 65?
__________________

__________________
LittleParr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugging hole in acrylic sump? severum mama General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 08-08-2009 07:44 PM
***FOR SALE*** RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:47 PM
RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER *TRADE* mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:44 PM
FS: AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer w/ Skimmer Box (USED) jmh2536 Archive 1 07-26-2006 02:45 PM
Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmer roka64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-20-2006 07:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.