Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-10-2011, 02:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 45
Power head

I have a 55g salt water tank and I'm planning to make it a reef tank. I was wondering what you guys think of this power head. (hydor koralia 3) I currently have a power head but there are alot of dead spots. And I do not want a power head that creates too many bubbles.
__________________

__________________
Dhiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 02:24 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 751
So long as you keep them low in the water they shouldn't make bubbles. Hydors are good (I use them) but it's an equally good idea (if possible for you) to add another return pump but much smaller to give you another source of circulating water.

It's a lot cheaper to buy another pump and some PVC to shoot water around your tank than buy the Tunze, Hydors, etc.

You can get Hydors 25% or so cheaper than an LFS at foster and smith, but you might want to try out maxijets from the sponsor spotlight. I use maxijet pumps all the time because they're cheap and good and I bet those powerheads are worth giving a shot.
__________________

__________________
Display tank - 24g nano w/ softies/montipora

I run electrical appliances underwater and enjoy injecting things with Kalk filled syringes.
Sarcothelia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 02:29 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 45
What is a return pump?
__________________
Dhiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 02:47 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DA fisherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bronx
Posts: 263
Send a message via AIM to DA fisherman
I use koralia 1050 they are the new 3,on my 90g reef.I have them somewhat high on the tank pointed upward to brake the water line on top and it still moves the water below....but if I had the money I would go with the vortech .

RETURN PUMP: is the pump you use in your sump to "RETURN" the water back to the display tank.
__________________
Fix your fins or get your fins fix
DA fisherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 03:32 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 45
I do not have a sump
__________________
Dhiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 12:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DA fisherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bronx
Posts: 263
Send a message via AIM to DA fisherman
Okay you have a 55g tank you want to make reef. Well first you need to do lots more reading and Internet searching .... Not to be mean but I can tell by your questions that you need a bit more...

Now with a tank the size of a 55g I would not use hang on the back filters... Not for a (FOWLR) tank and no way for a REEF.

With smaller tanks you can get away using hang on the back filters.

Now to start a reef I would suggest the following equipment :

1- Ro/DI unit . U feel is the most important equipment in any saltwater tank.
1- t5 high output light fixture or metal halides or LEDs .
1- 30g or 40g size sump/refugium ......a reugium will help lots in a reef tank....

1- skimmer twice what's rated for your tank .
1-overflow with all the drain/return hoses, and a return pump .

* there are people that use canister filters but I don't know nobody personally lol.

(FYI) with a fowlr tank you don't need t5 lighting but in reef tanks you do as a minimum. And in reef tank it's best to keep ammonia/nitrite/nitrates/ all at zero! Where in a fowlr tank it can be more forgiving.
__________________
Fix your fins or get your fins fix
DA fisherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 02:01 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 45
Well I have about 90lbs LR. A firefish and two occelaris clown fish. A clean up crew and a cleaner shrimp. I have a hob filter and t5 lighting already. So I need a sump?
__________________
Dhiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 02:45 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 45
So do I need a sump?
__________________
Dhiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 02:41 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhiy View Post
So do I need a sump?
For da fishman's post, sounds like you do
__________________

__________________
Henry405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power head

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power head Rossij101 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 03-29-2011 02:32 PM
Power head ? Fdsh5 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 03-03-2011 09:49 AM
power head clark4feathers Nano Reefs 4 07-07-2010 02:10 PM
Power Head use drobertson Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 11-21-2006 11:16 PM
power head trusoulja504 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 06-11-2005 08:55 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.