Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2012, 10:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Cogus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 86
Power head

Any suggestions on some good power heads for my 75 gallon reef tank? Also I'm 16 and cutting grass and doing odd jobs to pay for my tank so nothing to expensive
__________________

__________________
Cogus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:27 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Hydor makes excellent power heads
__________________

__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:30 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Cogus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 86
How much flow do you think i should have?
__________________
Cogus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 11:28 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
How much flow is your filtration creating? I would aim to have 3000-3750gph of total flow in your tank high end being for a more sps dominant tank
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 11:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Cogus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 86
Okay soo ill try to get to that r about 1500 gph because my filter is makin about 600 gph
__________________
Cogus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
You could always have 3 or 4 smaller powerheads. It'll give you more chances to direct a current to stop any dead spots but 2 1500s would be fine too
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Cogus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 86
I had read somwhere that u could put one on a timer to mix up flow has any one done this? Or is this even nesesary
__________________
Cogus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Yes you can but its used to kick up debris that may have settled. You can hook up koralias to a controller and set multiple pumps to simulate a more natural back and forth flow
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power head

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.