Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-31-2003, 08:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 53
Power Head In freshwater

Hi guys,

I was wondering if it makes any differences to put power Head in a fresh water tank.
I have 2 20 G tank.

Thanks

Damien
__________________

__________________
Fish are friends not food!
dcontes77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 09:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 98
Send a message via MSN to smooth_rivers
Depends on what you're going for. I've always used them in some form or another. Either to power UGFs or just to create water flow. In my freshwater and Chiclid tanks I used them to create enough current to keep the food off the tank bottom for as long as possible, and set them to 'flush' dead spots from behind rock work etc.

***Duplicate Post Deleted by Bearfan***
__________________

__________________
"Logic is the art of going wrong with confidence."
smooth_rivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 09:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 53
Thanks! Smooth River I will consider it for my Flowerhorn
__________________
Fish are friends not food!
dcontes77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 09:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 98
Send a message via MSN to smooth_rivers
You bet.

If I remember correctly...a Flowerhorn is a type of chiclid. My africans liked lots of current, and they do get nasty so the added flow will help your other filters pick up the detrius.
__________________
"Logic is the art of going wrong with confidence."
smooth_rivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 09:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 53
Yep and they are pretty messy.
Do you think the best spot will be 3 or 4 inches above the sand bed. Or more closer to the surface.
Thanks,

Damien
__________________
Fish are friends not food!
dcontes77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 10:33 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
I always use powerheads for tanks over 45 gal or so, just to keep the water circulated well, usually just small powerheads, unless you get into river fish that like a lot of current, and then I'll step them up.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 05:21 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 53
So maybe in a 20 G it is not really Important afterall.
Thanks everybody
__________________
Fish are friends not food!
dcontes77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 12:03 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 98
Send a message via MSN to smooth_rivers
Where you place them in the tank really has more to do with dead spots. In a chiclid tank you want to make sure you have good flow all the way around the tank, especially behind any decor to help flush the detrius up and out.

What other kinds of filtration are you going to use?
__________________
"Logic is the art of going wrong with confidence."
smooth_rivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 12:24 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto CANADA
Posts: 28
I too was wondering about powerheads...being a novice!

Do I really need one in a beginner 30 gal. planted community tank that I plan to set up? The LFS tried to sell me one, but I decided to hold off until I researched it a little more.

Filther will be a EHEIM 2213 canister, lighting I plan to start at about 2 WPG. Fish and Plants not yet determined - but easy, fun and hearty for the first learning period.

P.S. How would you determine dead spots in the aquarium?
__________________
Bernard
trafficjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 02:09 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
Dead spots are where there is little to no water flow. An easy way to check for them (much to the delight of your tank inhabitants) is to put some brine shrimp and tank water in a baster, then release the brine shrimp in different locations in your tank. If you notice the shrimp pretty much sink, that's a dead spot. Common locations would be behind objects, corners, away from filters, etc.
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freshwater, power head

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power head for freshwater? firebird5134 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 07-16-2008 12:10 PM
power head trusoulja504 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 06-11-2005 08:55 AM
Power head ? erawtik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 08-28-2004 08:09 PM
what is a power head?? hockeydude15 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 04-18-2004 09:56 PM
Is this power head enough? mansiz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 01-05-2004 01:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.