Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-23-2012, 08:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Power heads in a fw tank?

Now this might sound dumb but do people use power heads in a FW set up?

I have a 54g corner bowfront with an XP3 filter I know I have enough filtration but during feeding it takes a while for my water to clear up. And the cories don't help lol.

So do you use a power head and why? And what would be a good one for my setup and where do I point it? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 08:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
adadkins1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Morristown, TN
Posts: 1,762
I don't personally use a power head in any of my tanks. There are a couple reasons somebody may use one though. The first one that comes to mind is as a method of diffusion for CO2. You can simply plug the CO2 tube into the power head intake and you have instant diffusion. Another reason is for the needs of fish. Some fish that are from fast moving streams, etc. appreciate extra water movement.

As for your water being cloudy, what kind of food are you using? I've used Tetra flake food and NLS .5mm pellets and haven't had any cloudy water issues.
__________________

__________________
><(((º> Aaron ><(((º>
adadkins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 08:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
It's an Rena XP3
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 08:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
adadkins1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Morristown, TN
Posts: 1,762
What are you feeding the fish?
__________________
><(((º> Aaron ><(((º>
adadkins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 08:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Frozen food 2x a week and tertra color pellets.

Could it just be the shape of the tank?
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 09:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
adadkins1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Morristown, TN
Posts: 1,762
Possibly....I would assume very little if any food is making it to the substrate? If so, then that is probably not to blame. I don't really know why your water would get cloudy only at feeding time.
__________________
><(((º> Aaron ><(((º>
adadkins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 09:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
Well I also feed hakkari sinking pellets
For the cories

Idk
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 09:11 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
adadkins1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Morristown, TN
Posts: 1,762
I don't know, do you gravel vac often? Maybe when it comes time for food the Cories stir up a lot of detritus in the substrate.
__________________
><(((º> Aaron ><(((º>
adadkins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 12:10 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 168
Feed less per feeding?
__________________

__________________
chagoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New tank after power outage NepaTitan Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 8 01-13-2012 01:58 AM
New 30 Gal. Tank Build! MKFMedic Saltwater Reef Aquaria 27 12-07-2011 10:15 PM
New Power Filter for 55 gallon tank Cornstar General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 11-27-2011 10:43 AM
Power heads ozorowsky General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 09-14-2011 10:08 AM
Advice on newish (and first) tropical/fresh 10 gallon... FoxGlove Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 07-25-2011 01:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.