Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-31-2009, 09:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
hbeth82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 623
powerhead advice for FW 50gal tank

My boyfriend has a 50gal NW cichlid tank (and a few idiot barbs) and the substrate is fairly course sand. For filtration he has two AC 70's but water isn't really moving much thru the tank so he's considering one of the Koralia powerheads. The trouble is in deciding how many gph he should get, either 400 or 600. The tank isn't planted although he's considering changing it around in the future.

Which powerhead would people recommend, a little less than 10gph per gallon or a bit more?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
hbeth82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 09:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
you dont need alot of flow, get the 400.


I use aquaclear 20 powerheads for water movement in my planted 52g tank. It gives it just enough current yet gentle enough not to disturb a thing. Worried about sand in it, get a ac20 HOB sponge and cut a hole in it.

To be honest get the cheapest brand name one you can find, you really do not need a strong one with cichlids they come from slow moving creeks not fast currents. I have my AC20PH set right to the left of the AC70HOB outlet shooting into the clean AC70 water at a 90 degree angle 2" below the surface, Doing this, it directs the water clear to the other side of the tank and yes you can see the water coming back at lower and higher levels then the PH itself is.
__________________

__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 09:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
hbeth82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 623
Awesome, thanks for the info & the quick reply (hoping to place a massive order for stuff tonight). I understand the benefits to directing the powerhead towards the outflow from the AC's but he's planning to keep it just a few inches above the substrate, hoping that this will keep the poo & algae from getting settled into the sand. Recently had a sudden spike in ammonia though no changes had been made to the tank. After giving him some biomedia from both of my tanks and no improvement, he did a massive cleaning of the substrate and the ammonia disappeared. He's hopeful that the motion will prevent this. Any thoughts on whether it will work?
__________________
hbeth82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 09:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
id say it would probably push the sand too... my pfs is heavy, never gets sucked up when doing a gravel vac, but i stuck a powerhead in mine about 6" up and it still pushed the sand
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 10:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
Itll blow that sand all over the place at that level. Its better to have it low yes however even gravel will get blown around. You are looking at 4x the normal flow for that tank, If I remember right those powerheads are able to be aimed, he can place it that low but if he is perpendicular to the substrate under 10" in distance the sand will blow around still.
__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 10:10 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
hbeth82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteDevil View Post
If I remember right those powerheads are able to be aimed, he can place it that low but if he is perpendicular to the substrate under 10" in distance the sand will blow around still.
Judging by the pictures, it does look like you can aim the Koralia powerheads. Do you mean it should be placed a foot or so above the substrate, pointing downwards? Also, how much of the substrate will be displaced - enough so that nothing ever settles & there's a crater in the substrate, or you just notice some movement along the bottom?

If anyone has suggestions on what might work better to keep nasties from settling down, please let me know!
__________________
hbeth82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 11:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mckinney Texas
Posts: 138
I use a Koralia Nano in my 56g planted tank. It is a wonderful piece of equipment I would buy again. You can aim them and mine sits about one foot off the floor and doesnt disturb the substrate. You gotta turn it off to feed, but other than that it is the best thing ive ever bought. For the money you cant beat them.
__________________
Markstanfill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 09:34 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
Current doesnt go on an angle, I always have my currents horizontal in the tank. I use upper levels because it helps get the Co2 rich water at the surface mixed in.

Koralia's do have to be turned off at feeding, I forgot that part one of the reasons I just went with the aquaclear one.
__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 11:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
hbeth82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 623
Thanks. What's different between the Koralia & the AquaClear that one needs to be turned off for feeding and the other does not?
__________________
hbeth82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 11:29 PM   #10
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
the reason you turn them off when feeding is because the food will go everywhere if you dont
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerhead, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Im thinking about buying a 50gal S/W tank... I'm a Newbie kelkoski Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 06-23-2006 07:58 PM
96watts + 50gal tank [only half filled] = wpg?? Raimeiken Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-10-2004 02:40 PM
Powerhead advice. How much is too much? Mach Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-07-2004 02:16 PM
powerhead advice? ivtec247 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 02-19-2004 10:42 PM
Any Ideas for a 50gal tank? puffergirl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 12-14-2003 03:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.