Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-01-2006, 01:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 479
Powerhead placement

OK, I have no powerheads in my freshwater aquarium, but I understand the importance of having them in a saltwater aquarium.

I have a 46-gallon, and I intend to put about 65 pounds of live rock in it. I purchased 2 Maxi-Jet 900s (a total of 460 gph). You can see in the picture how I have them tentatively placed. The problem I have is that I have no experience and no idea how to create good water flow. I'm not sure if you want the 2 water streams to crash into each other in the middle, or if you want 2 layers of water moving? Right now I tentatively have them placed to move the top 1/4 and just above the 1/2 line.

What have you found works well? Obviously how I build my aquascape will make a difference, but what are your thoughts?
__________________

__________________
38 Gallon (Freshwater): 1 Green Swordtail, 3 Yo-Yo Loaches, 1 Clown Pleco, 1 Blue Gourami, 4 Otocinclus, 7 Cherry Barbs.

46 Gallon (Saltwater): 60 pounds Lalo Live Rock, 60 pounds aragonite sand, 1 Coral Beauty Angelfish, 1 Peppermint Shrimp, 1 Mushroom Coral, 1 Emerald Crab, various snails and hermit crabs.

10 Gallon (Saltwater quarantine):
pkremer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 02:13 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: St. Augustine/Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 648
Send a message via Yahoo to Florida8
For me I just play & position them once all my LR is in place to make sure there are no "dead" spots to create a puddle of junk build up... know what I mean? I try to keep a low GPH PH blowing behind the rock on the back glass to keep a good water flow... but not too much... just enough to keep food and garbage from getting trapped back there... not sure if it's needed.... just always have.

I have been thinking about getting a couple of the power heads that move, wave makers I think?... not sure though... more reading 1st
__________________

__________________
Kimberly in NE Florida
*******
Cycle complete Early 2-06
29g reef
2 ph and 1 HOB =460 gph
130watt Orbit lighting system
50+lbs lr
1 blue green chromis, domino, blue devil
6 turbo snails
1 mantis GRRRR!
Florida8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 04:32 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 273
I'd want one of them to break the suface of the water to oxygenate it, so I'd point it up a little. The other could go nearly anywhere...I don't think you can really tell until you get your rock in there, aquascaped, and see how things go. You will soon see if there are trouble spots and you can move your ph accordingly.
__________________
Wood_Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 10:46 AM   #4
drm
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Francisco Area
Posts: 53
After your tank is up and going, you will be able to see where the currents are. But, for the most part, your general positioning looks good. If it was me, I would have two at the top to break up the water (assuming you are not using a sump with a return), and then you can put a third powerhead lower in the tank. All of those don't have to be the 900s. You could use another smaller one to help break the surface. Oxygenation and maintenance of pH are really important, and that surface movement needs to be active enough to help maintain the O2 and pH. IME.
__________________
drm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 11:08 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 427
my experience has finall taught me to have at least on ph behind the live rock to make sure there isn't any "dead spots" this will utilize you filter better also.

take it from me, i didn't have any power heads behind the rock and i had trouble with cyano and aamonia problems.

hth

mark
__________________
ohio reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 03:10 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Memphis
Posts: 196
I like the Hydor Flow ph output unit that circulates the flow better. They're pretty cheap at $10/each.
__________________
45G Reef - 65#'s of LR, 3" sand bed, Fluval 304 filled with LR rubble, (2) MJ900, SeaClone 100 protein skimmer with MJ1200
Fish - Ocellaris Clown, Royal Gramma, Purple Firefish, Coral Beauty, Blue Neon Goby
Coral - Xenia, Devil's Hand Leather, Toadstool Leather, Green Hairy Mushrooms, Zoanthids
Inverts - (2) Peppermint Shrimp, Scarlet Cleaner Shrimp, (5) Turbo Snails, (4) Nassarius Snails, (10) Blue Leg Hermits, Emerald Crab, (3) Scarlett Crabs, some small starfish(hitchhikers)


My Aquarium Photos
localhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 02:12 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 479
Crazy idea? What if I had one power head blowing behind the rock, from right to left, that water would end up by the filter...then another power head on the left side blowing the water around the bow front from left to right? Attempt to make a circular flow to move the water literally "around" the tank...thoughts?

Paul
__________________
38 Gallon (Freshwater): 1 Green Swordtail, 3 Yo-Yo Loaches, 1 Clown Pleco, 1 Blue Gourami, 4 Otocinclus, 7 Cherry Barbs.

46 Gallon (Saltwater): 60 pounds Lalo Live Rock, 60 pounds aragonite sand, 1 Coral Beauty Angelfish, 1 Peppermint Shrimp, 1 Mushroom Coral, 1 Emerald Crab, various snails and hermit crabs.

10 Gallon (Saltwater quarantine):
pkremer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 10:07 AM   #8
drm
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Francisco Area
Posts: 53
Here is a good link to look at with information regarding water flow in aquariums. HTH
http://www.wetwebmedia.com/circmarart.htm
__________________

__________________
drm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerhead

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerhead Placement sdellin Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 12-14-2005 01:12 AM
powerhead placement eddiedellz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-05-2005 07:13 PM
Powerhead placement?? rdefino Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-15-2004 09:11 AM
Powerhead placement brndfrb Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-21-2004 06:24 PM
Powerhead Placement c-bass Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-10-2003 12:30 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.