Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-09-2013, 01:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dubai, UAE.
Posts: 73
powerhead pump capacity

i would like to buy a powerhead pump to make a DIY canister filter. the maximum pumping height is mentioned on the pump packaging. do i choose the pump with more pumping height than i require. for example if 1 require a height of 1 meter, i would choose something more than this like 1.5 meters.

can anyone help.
__________________

__________________
nilesh7318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 03:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 380
This is somewhat of a loaded question. What you really want to consider is how big is your tank, how heavy is your bio load, and then you can worry about head pressure.
For example, let's say you have a 50 gallon tank and have a small bio load. You want to turn over your volume 4-6 times and hour. So, you're looking for a pump that can flow between 200-300 gallons an hour at the head pressure you got.
If you have a heavy bio load, you wanna turn your volume over at 10 times an hour, so now you'll need a pump that'll flow 500gph at required head pressure.
__________________

__________________
gravereaper0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 04:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
aqua_chem's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 6,936
In you have a true canister filter, then you will have a closed loop system and therefore no true head height. You might have some resistance from curves in the tubing and the media, but the actual height isn't really a factor beyond higher resistance due to longer tubing.
__________________
Algae creates 75% of the world's oxygen, so really we're all just doing our parts...
aqua_chem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 10:34 PM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Won't it be hard to make a canister filter as it will need to be pressurised

Also if it not pressurised wouldn't it just be a sump

If you are trying to work out the exact flow rate then its very hard if not impossible to get the balance right with drain and return so if its not resurfaced your taking big risks

But that said I don't know how far you are with the project
__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 02:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dubai, UAE.
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqua_chem View Post
In you have a true canister filter, then you will have a closed loop system and therefore no true head height. You might have some resistance from curves in the tubing and the media, but the actual height isn't really a factor beyond higher resistance due to longer tubing.
if you say that a canister filter has no true head height. so if i make this filter the water will flow to the filter placed under the aquarium and will it also be pumped back upwards to the aquarium without any problems. well to minimize the resistance can i use tubing with larger diameter for the filter.
__________________
nilesh7318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 09:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
aqua_chem's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 6,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by nilesh7318 View Post
if you say that a canister filter has no true head height. so if i make this filter the water will flow to the filter placed under the aquarium and will it also be pumped back upwards to the aquarium without any problems.
Yes, that's how normal canister filters work. If you prime a new filter with suction, the entire thing will fill by itself and the water will come up to the level of the water in the tank purely by gravity.

Quote:
well to minimize the resistance can i use tubing with larger diameter for the filter.
You can do this if you want. I think the decision whether to use 1/2", 5/8", or 3/4" would mostly come down to how much flow you're targeting. I would model this off of traditional filters if I were doing it.
__________________

__________________
Algae creates 75% of the world's oxygen, so really we're all just doing our parts...
aqua_chem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cap, capacity, powerhead, pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.