Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-27-2009, 07:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
thetonyage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northeastern PA
Posts: 87
powerheads

how much power will i need in my 125 gallon reef tank? the tanks 48 in long 18.25 in wide and its pretty deep.
__________________

__________________
thetonyage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 08:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
if I am correct you want 23-30 times water turnover. So that would be about 2875-3750gph including your main circulation pump from sump! I love the Hydor Koralia's I wish I could afford VorTech's!
__________________

__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 03:07 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by bavass View Post
if I am correct you want 23-30 times water turnover. So that would be about 2875-3750gph including your main circulation pump from sump! I love the Hydor Koralia's I wish I could afford VorTech's!
The Koralia's are the best powerhead for the money I would suggest 4-5 powerheads instead of a couple of big ones. You have more control over the flow that way. maybe 2 K-2's and 2 K-3's or 1 and 3 or better yet 5 k-2's you will be happier with the control that can be achieved with more power heads.
__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 08:48 AM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Hey fellow NEPA reefer. Where exactly ar you located? I'm right outside Wilkes-Barre.
What are the dimensions of the tank? It doesn't sound like a typical 125g tank being only 4' long. Anyway, I would go with no less than 2 Koralia 4's to start with and maybe more depending on what type of corals you plan on getting.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 08:55 AM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 06:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
thetonyage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northeastern PA
Posts: 87
i live right in scranton, i grew up in the pittson/wb area tho. yea the tanks kinda short and tall. the exact dimensions are 48 inches long 18 and a half inches wide and 32 and a half inches tall. ive got the nova extreme pro T5HO lighting setup which i think should be enough to get light all the way down to the bottom when need be. also i decided to go with 2 koralia 4's for now.
__________________
thetonyage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:06 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
I got a topfin powerhead 30 for my 29gal tank. Is it completely submersible? Can i put it in th bottom of tank? Scared to try that..
__________________
Vinodh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mckinney Texas
Posts: 138
Put it anywhere you like. Just be careful if you have a sandy bottom. Otherwise, put it at the bottom, turn it upside down, whatever you like. And btw if I were you, take it back if you can and get a Koralia Nano. They are about 35 dollars and push so much more water than the topfin, clog less and are more versatile. Unless you need it for an UG filter, traditional powerheads are useless imo.
__________________
Markstanfill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Cool Thanks.. I bought it like 2 weeks back from petsmart.. not sure if they will take it back. Let me try..
__________________

__________________
Vinodh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerheads

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
???Powerheads??? FishAddict Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 09-25-2006 10:38 PM
Powerheads? LindaC General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 08-13-2006 01:31 PM
powerheads? NEWTOSALT Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 02-20-2005 09:35 PM
powerheads NJDevilsWinCup General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 06-27-2004 12:12 PM
Powerheads evenings Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 11 05-21-2004 12:45 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.