Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-04-2011, 10:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Blakskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 308
Question powerheads?

Hey guys, ive been doing some research on equipment b4 i go and buy, for circulation in my 30 gallon long tank, i think was thinking about getting this Zoo Med Power Sweep Automatic Self-Rotating Powerhead Wavemaker 228 at PETCO

Will this do well in my tank? I plan on doing fish, live rock, and a anemane

If not, can you guys suggest a good/afforable powerhead?
__________________

__________________
Blakskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 87
Search powerheads on eBay. I have seen lots of good rotating powerheads pretty cheap.
__________________

__________________
Fishking22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 39
I'm not sure how good that one is form Petco but the first one I bought from them was horrible. I have 2 Hydor Korlia Nano 425's in my 30 and to be honest I think I may need more flow. It all depends on my return when i finish my sump.
I got mine from an online from Big Al's for $26 each (sale). If you search you can find them.

I like the Korlia's since they give off a more dispersed flow instead of the jet like most powerheads.

Check out the Evolutions. Someone with more experience can tell you if one 550 or 750 would be enough. The link is for reference and you may be able to find them cheaper.
Power Heads
__________________
willy0508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 64
I have no idea. But, it does look pretty cool. I can see why it's tempting to you. I've always wondered why they set them up so they don't move.
__________________
Oh darn, I just NEED that for my tank. I mean...wow...how could I live without it????
Aquachic4545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
i have two koralia 550s and they are doing alright. it doesn't look like there is much flow but there really is
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 12:03 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Blakskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 308
im actually planning to have clown fish and possibly an anemone, i kno clownfish dont need them, but they look so **** cool lol but ive also read that in many cases anemones get sucked up into powerheads, is there any tips you guys have for water circulation with anemones?
__________________
Blakskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 12:08 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
they can indeed get sucked up

it depends what kind of power head you go with, if you get a pump style a simple filter works or cage, if its a circulating pump like the koralias or MP40s then you could wrap it in a sliding door mesh so it can't get its tenticals in it.
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 12:13 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Blakskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 308
what material is that made of?
__________________
Blakskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 12:16 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 751
A cheaper thing over a submersible powerhead is just adding another return pump. Just buy a fixture to put on the end of it to change how the water flows out of it. I bought 2 425 gph Koralias for 30 dollars a piece before I just got a maxijet 1200 and got more flow for half the price. Just takes a bit extra time.

You could put a mesh around it or some egg crate or what have you. I haven't had to do that because my clown is perfectly happy with Clavularia :P
__________________
Display tank - 24g nano w/ softies/montipora

I run electrical appliances underwater and enjoy injecting things with Kalk filled syringes.
Sarcothelia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:14 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
Hydor Korlia good price at Aquacave
__________________

__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerheads

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do I need to know about Powerheads? TheIrishJedi Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 05-18-2009 05:57 PM
Does anyone know anything about these powerheads? themangia1984 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-21-2009 01:14 PM
powerheads? NEWTOSALT Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 02-20-2005 09:35 PM
What are powerheads ? simian Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 10-04-2004 09:55 AM
powerheads ryan0292002ca Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-21-2004 12:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.