Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-07-2015, 11:13 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
shawnjohn686's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 33
I had the hydro's for two years on my 30 gallon not to bad but then they stopped working. I was going to get the same ones again but thought I would try something else. now have had the Sicce voyager nano for about 6 months. I like it more then the old ones I had.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
shawnjohn686 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 06:16 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
First you need to figure out what kind of reef you are setting up. I'm assuming you are doing low or low-moderate flow corals (ie softies and some LPS). I've been away from the hobby for quit some time, but low-moderate flow would be around 20-50gph. Well over 50gph would be high flow SPS happy environment.

2+ powerheads is better than 1. Reason is you help create the right flow for different areas of your tank depending on where the flow is coming. You can set up the flow to make the bottom area of your tank for low flow softies and higher area of the tank moderate flow LPS.

This above is the main reason to why powerheads is important to a tank to a reef tank. Other important features is keeping the water going through the live rocks and keeping some debris and waste suspended until it gets to your overflow, filter, or water changes.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 06:18 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Utah
Posts: 33
I put in two hydors (got them for as cheap as any other ones) and they seem to being doing a good job. Just need to work on getting the best position. But I do like having two pumps instead of one like I had before, allows different areas to get flow
__________________
woots1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 07:00 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Tie a piece of string to a net handle and it will show you the flow zones in the tank, use it to position your phs so you have no dead zones


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerhead, powerheads

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What about powerheads?? swishyfishies Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-14-2003 01:06 PM
powerheads et al Hara Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 03-18-2003 08:46 AM
powerheads in general & waterflow Salt4Us Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 02-06-2003 06:17 PM
Which Powerheads vermonter310 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 12-17-2002 05:21 AM
Powerheads...do Ineed them? Hara Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 09-24-2002 04:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.