Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-30-2005, 11:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 91
Pre-filter on uptake pipe

Hi,

I own one of those aquariums with a in hood filter that uses an uptake pipe. I have replaced the stock strainer (ie plastic nob with long rectangular thin holes in it) with a sponge pre-filter. However, after a while, I noticed the amount of water goiing up the uptake pipe has significantly decreased.

I tried cleaning the pre-filter but it still hasn't helped increase the uptake. The main problem is I'm hearing a slight rattling noise which I'm guessing is the magnetic impellor moving without any water around it.

I guess maybe whereever there's smoke there's fire, so I just wanted to ask, would I be damaging my motor/impellor (whatever) if I left it like that? Though atm, I don't seem to see a problem with the stock one since its not a sand base so there's less chance of sand building up in there.

Cheers
__________________

__________________
extremenewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 03:26 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
Maybe air trapped in the sponge got sucked up into the impellor? Try turning the filter off and and on a few times in a row to dislodge. If that doesn't work open up the filter and look.
__________________

__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 06:29 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 91
Actually I know its a lack of water problem.

As I said before, but badly, I reverted bak to the old "strainer" and it doesn't make the noise anymore. The noise is coming from the fact that there's less water travelling up the pipe.
__________________
extremenewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 11:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
wow. I wouldn't have thought a sponge could do that.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 04:29 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
Try a coarser sponge..... I use one out of a rena internal powerfilter. It fits the tube, more of an accident that anything but flow rate has not been altered measurably....

Perhaps the magnets in the impellor system are weak?
__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, pipe

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Thing On My Filter & Air Pipe?? Samuel-Bennett Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 06-11-2009 12:15 PM
How to install pre-filter? Marconis General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-04-2007 09:51 PM
Sand Pre-filter? Smaug21 DIY Projects 4 10-25-2007 06:17 AM
Pre filter potsieweber33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-30-2005 10:18 PM
Pre-filter for skimmer? two11devan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-19-2004 04:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.